Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Car General Discussions
Reload this Page >

Considering buying 5 y/o Nitro Cars from Storage

Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Considering buying 5 y/o Nitro Cars from Storage

Old 10-19-2012, 04:21 AM
NCWalrus

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Considering buying 5 y/o Nitro Cars from Storage

I am consider buying a lot of several used (one never used) Nitro/electric R/C cars from Storage.

These are reputable brands like HPI, OFNA, Losi, Traxxas

All cars are complete and RTR and were lightly used 5 years ago and not touched again. My assumption is they were not properly prepped for storage.

What risks am I assuming? Will I need to replace many parts on these to get them functional again? Will the nitro ones need new parts and electric one as well?

I am a complete RC newbie and appreciate your help.

Thanks!
Old 10-19-2012, 04:36 AM
phmaximus

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: Considering buying 5 y/o Nitro Cars from Storage

I would be very carefull, im not saying dont, but I dont know if u would have the skills to diognoise any problems them possibly might have. Might end up been very fustrating. Then again u might get them up and running with no major headake.

If its well with in ur budget go for it..

Can u unspect the cars before? & I would recomend finding out exactly what they are so u can check for the availability of parts
Old 10-19-2012, 04:53 AM
NCWalrus

Thanks for your input.

Yes, I can check out the cars before buying. They also come with many parts/accessories.

Only thing I am worried about is if they sat for that long maybe there could be corroded fuel lines or leaking batteries that could ruin parts? 

Also not sure how expensive new glow plugs/parts are.