Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Waterproofing

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2013, 09:51 AM
jcjrogers

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Waterproofing

I'm new to RC cars (not new to RC), and have seen a lot on Youtube about waterproofing ESC, receiver, and servo. This seems like a great DIY idea, but has the potential ramifications of destroying the electronics. I'm not planning to try to run through water, though I do live on a lake and anything is possible, but do plan to run on an ice rink. More important than that is just not having to worry so much about the ground being wet or accidently running through a small puddle left by sprinklers, a hose, etc.

My questions are, does DIY waterproofing work, is it relatively safe, and if so, which is the preferred product to use or does it matter... do they all work pretty well? I like the idea of using CorrosionX as it seems less messy and not as thick as the "liquid rubber" type products. However, I also wonder if it is as effective and if not as effective, is it for all practical purposes, effective enough? Thoughts?
Old 06-07-2013, 10:52 AM
cumquat

Default RE: Waterproofing

shoo goo (silicone glue) is my go-to product for waterproofing. it's quick, easy, not too messy and 100% safe. silicone is non-conductive so no damage will result from contact with electrical components and it wont come off while running. just run a bead around the seams of the cases and into any unnecessary gaps. this also prevents dust from getting into cases and causing damage (if you run in a very dusty area, it can build on the boards and act as insulation, causing excessive heat).
Old 06-07-2013, 11:35 AM
EXT2Rob
My Feedback: (1)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

It kind of depends on the thing you're trying to waterproof.  What cumquat suggests would work for sealing seams.