Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 7 of 7

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Hartland, WI
    Posts
    320
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Mounting gps in TC4

    Hey guys, need some ideas here. I got a Garmin nuvi I want to mount up in my tc4 for speed runs. Other than zip ties what are some better, more sturdy mounting ideas?

    I was thinking about making up some kind of bracket but then you get more weight, and also a bigger peice to mount. Space and weight are limited.

  2. #2
    collector1231's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    A place in a place.
    Posts
    2,430
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Mounting gps in TC4

    Why not mount the gps in a jacket on top of the driveshaft protector plate? http://www.staples.com/Garmin-Univer...47&KPID=934447

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Hartland, WI
    Posts
    320
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Mounting gps in TC4

    That could work.  I just used zip ties today.  I had a measly 30mph.....with a 8.5 turn motor 72/30 gearing......crap

  4. #4
    butt_housed247's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    The OC, CA
    Posts
    293
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Mounting gps in TC4

    i just used masking tape to hold my GPS to the battery strap on my evader.  
    didn't get a reading though.  idk if i just didn't drive far enough or if the body blocked the satellite or what.
    Speaking on nothing makes you a stunt. I'll tell you right here yo I won't front.

  5. #5
    collector1231's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    A place in a place.
    Posts
    2,430
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Mounting gps in TC4


    ORIGINAL: littlemel

    That could work. I just used zip ties today. I had a measly 30mph.....with a 8.5 turn motor 72/30 gearing......crap
    Don't be too sad. My B4.1 with an 8.5 5000kv system barely reaches 25 MPH. Hard to believe...


  6. #6
    EXT2Rob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Placerville, CA
    Posts
    1,609
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Mounting gps in TC4

    The body shouldn't block the sat signal.  The motor system might be interfering with it. Some of these things throw out a lot of RF noise.
    Just a schmoe....

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Hartland, WI
    Posts
    320
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Mounting gps in TC4


    ORIGINAL: collector1231


    ORIGINAL: littlemel

    That could work. I just used zip ties today. I had a measly 30mph.....with a 8.5 turn motor 72/30 gearing......crap
    Don't be too sad. My B4.1 with an 8.5 5000kv system barely reaches 25 MPH. Hard to believe...

    I will be getting the caslte 7700 kv motor eventually so it should help.......in the mean time im going 69/35 gearing.
    I want to get some other peoples onroad gearing/motor setup and speed to see what its capable of.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:56 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.