RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Mounting gps in TC4

Reply
Old 06-29-2013, 12:42 PM
  #1
littlemel
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hartland, WI
Posts: 320
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Mounting gps in TC4

Hey guys, need some ideas here. I got a Garmin nuvi I want to mount up in my tc4 for speed runs. Other than zip ties what are some better, more sturdy mounting ideas?

I was thinking about making up some kind of bracket but then you get more weight, and also a bigger peice to mount. Space and weight are limited.
littlemel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 04:20 AM
  #2
collector1231
Moderator
 
collector1231's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: A place in a place.
Posts: 4,092
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Mounting gps in TC4

Why not mount the gps in a jacket on top of the driveshaft protector plate? http://www.staples.com/Garmin-Univer...47&KPID=934447
collector1231 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 02:59 PM
  #3
littlemel
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hartland, WI
Posts: 320
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Mounting gps in TC4

That could work.  I just used zip ties today.  I had a measly 30mph.....with a 8.5 turn motor 72/30 gearing......crap
littlemel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 04:12 PM
  #4
butt_housed247
 
butt_housed247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: The OC, CA
Posts: 298
Default RE: Mounting gps in TC4

i just used masking tape to hold my GPS to the battery strap on my evader.  
didn't get a reading though.  idk if i just didn't drive far enough or if the body blocked the satellite or what.
butt_housed247 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 06:39 PM
  #5
collector1231
Moderator
 
collector1231's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: A place in a place.
Posts: 4,092
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Mounting gps in TC4


Quote:
ORIGINAL: littlemel

That could work. I just used zip ties today. I had a measly 30mph.....with a 8.5 turn motor 72/30 gearing......crap
Don't be too sad. My B4.1 with an 8.5 5000kv system barely reaches 25 MPH. Hard to believe...

collector1231 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 06:47 AM
  #6
EXT2Rob
 
EXT2Rob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Placerville, CA
Posts: 2,939
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Mounting gps in TC4

The body shouldn't block the sat signal.  The motor system might be interfering with it. Some of these things throw out a lot of RF noise.
EXT2Rob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 11:43 AM
  #7
littlemel
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hartland, WI
Posts: 320
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Mounting gps in TC4


Quote:
ORIGINAL: collector1231


Quote:
ORIGINAL: littlemel

That could work. I just used zip ties today. I had a measly 30mph.....with a 8.5 turn motor 72/30 gearing......crap
Don't be too sad. My B4.1 with an 8.5 5000kv system barely reaches 25 MPH. Hard to believe...

I will be getting the caslte 7700 kv motor eventually so it should help.......in the mean time im going 69/35 gearing.
I want to get some other peoples onroad gearing/motor setup and speed to see what its capable of.
littlemel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:49 AM.