RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Racing Advice - 1/12th

Old 01-29-2014, 02:47 AM
RCStuart007

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Racing Advice - 1/12th

Hi All

I am fairly new to RC Racing, had quite a few RC Vehicles over the years, however not really raced a huge amount.

Been racing Micro Buggies recently and very much enjoy, it is with a local club (Dudley Model Car Club (West Midlands UK)) doing okay got a few first places but certainly not dominant in anyway shape or form, but have caught the racing bug big time!!

Would like to go into a different class, my club the aforementioned do not race the 1/12th cars; however I am not fazed by travelling to get to races etc.
Would it be a giant leap i.e. a step too far to go into 1/12[SUP]th[/SUP] circuit racing? I have a huge admniration for the style of these cars and would love to buy, build and race one but wonder if I would be wasting my money and this type of racing is for those who are the F1 stars of the RC World even at club level??
I would very much like some advice and pointers even down to the model to get should I be able to race?

Many Thanks

Stuart
Old 01-29-2014, 09:09 AM
i8tweety

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

As someone who has race 1/12 carpet for years, I say have at it. I've known quite a few people that started in the hobby with 1/12 spec class racing.
Old 01-29-2014, 09:30 AM
RCStuart007

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

Hi

Exactly the sort of person I needed to reply for me, and very much the reply I had hoped for. I very much want to race 1/12th's. I did pop to my local hobby shop today and have a look at the 1/12 kits, they haven't got a huge amount but did offer the following one for me to consider, a "Calandra Carpet Knife" Is this a good starting point?