Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Car General Discussions
Reload this Page >

Kit building - how hard is the process?

Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Kit building - how hard is the process?

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2014, 02:04 AM
CENTRAL R/C

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Kit building - how hard is the process?

Hello,

I am a complete newb with just my first RTR in hand.

Is there I chance I could start building a kit from scratch???

As I see it building a project offers much more insight and knowledge to the hobby. It can also be done in a slow pace as far as investing time and money goes.

Last thing I would wish for however would be an incomplete kit laying around in some closet...

I would just love to end up with an Associated B44.2 in a year or so and this is the kit I' m looking at.

What's your opinion guys?
Old 02-21-2014, 05:06 AM
turok007

the instructions help a lot. but the only issue i have seen with some people builing a kit is they go mad with tightening things up like it was a real car and then having to glue everything.
Old 02-21-2014, 05:14 AM
CENTRAL R/C

It's a fairly popular kit and there's lots of info everywhere.

If I can get it for a fair price locally I guess I should expect help from them...
Old 02-22-2014, 11:35 AM
SyCo_VeNoM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I find kits pretty easy personally it takes me usually 2 hours tops to build them, but I've seen people spend 8 hours+ on the same kits.
Only once did I not finish a vehicle the same day I started it(my SCX10), but that wasn't due to me one of the needed parts were malformed in the box, and I had to wait for a replacement from the company to continue.