Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Nitro or electric for 8-year-old?

Old 03-17-2014, 12:19 PM
henryvuong

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Nitro or electric for 8-year-old?

I have an 8 years old son who wants to have a RC car or truck. I am not sure I should buy him an electric or nitro car. I have never owned any RC toy before but I would love to spend time with my son to figure out how to use, or fix, it. My son is a very curious boy and I know he would love to spend time fixing his toy, but I don't know if a nitro car is too complicated for him, and for a first-time-user dad like me. I am an engineer and I know the basic of car engine. I want to teach my son how a gasoline engine operates so ultimately I would want a nitro car, just not sure about the timing.

What do you suggest? Should I start with an electric car now and later change to a a nitro car, or jump right onto it?
Old 03-17-2014, 01:15 PM
SyCo_VeNoM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Well do note that Nitro engines run at 240-280 degrees so it his hand hits one it WILL get burnt pretty good, also the pipes get hot as hell too. The fuel is very poisonous, and volatile too. Personally I wouldn't recommend it unless you plan to be there to supervise it constantly when in use. Also note that tuning can be sometimes tricky so unless you have time to sit down, and watch videos that show how to do things I wouldn't recommend it. Now I have let my nephew run one of my nitro trucks when he was 7 and he had a blast, but that was under close supervision. Also fuel is depending where you live $40+ a gallon, and can be a pain to get if there isn't a hobby shop nearby that stocks it.