RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Hyper 7 breakin today went bad

Reply
Old 04-04-2014, 03:38 PM
  #1
PeeBeMe
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: PHILADELPHIA, PA
Posts: 501
Default Hyper 7 breakin today went bad

Hi guys. I was breaking in my hyper 7 today and got to my 3rd tank and my engine shut off.
I tried to start it up and notice, my pull start and flywheel won't move at all. I took the glow plug out and still won't move.
What should I do yall , send it back to the company or....?
PeeBeMe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 03:54 PM
  #2
nitroexpress
 
nitroexpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sonoma, CA
Posts: 1,288
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Take the engine out of the vehicle. Take the back plate off and check to see if the rod is broken.

Did you preheat the engine and/or run it too lean. What brand of fuel was used?
nitroexpress is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 04:49 PM
  #3
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

did you have a temp gun....to check engine temps as you broke it in?

only time ive had a motor I couldn't turn over was when it got base flooded....but taking the glow plug out and turning it upside down and then pulling the starter would fix that.
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 05:14 PM
  #4
PeeBeMe
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: PHILADELPHIA, PA
Posts: 501
Default

Hi.
I had a temp gun and I was using traxxas fuel "I know I know"
PeeBeMe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 05:16 PM
  #5
PeeBeMe
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: PHILADELPHIA, PA
Posts: 501
Default

Tried that to my friend. Thanks guys
PeeBeMe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 05:19 PM
  #6
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeeBeMe View Post
Hi.
I had a temp gun and I was using traxxas fuel "I know I know"
I haven't used traxxas fuel myself, but even if it is not the best...it wont ruin a motor during break in.

what temps were the motor running at?

it isn't that hard to disassemble a nitro motor. if something should be broken inside, taking it apart will reveal the problem right away.
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 06:20 PM
  #7
phmaximus
 
phmaximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Adelaide, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 6,554
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeeBeMe View Post
Hi guys. I was breaking in my hyper 7 today and got to my 3rd tank and my engine shut off.
I tried to start it up and notice, my pull start and flywheel won't move at all. I took the glow plug out and still won't move.
What should I do yall , send it back to the company or....?
Its hard to say..... If u were doing everything 100% as per manual then send it back.... But keep in mind if there is signs of user error they might charge u a fee for inspecting it. If its a warranty related problem they pay for it to be inspected... If its user error u pay.

id maby call the place that u brought it from for instructions.... I'd hate for u to start messing with the motor making the warranty void
phmaximus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 06:22 PM
  #8
PeeBeMe
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: PHILADELPHIA, PA
Posts: 501
Default

3rd tank 190°
PeeBeMe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 06:45 PM
  #9
i8tweety
Moderator
 
i8tweety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Northridge, ON, CANADA
Posts: 4,387
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The piston could just be stuck at top dead center.
i8tweety is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 08:29 PM
  #10
SyCo_VeNoM
 
SyCo_VeNoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 12,761
Default

Note on traxxas topfuel(the name is very misleading) main issue I had with it is it was over loaded with oil to the point it would be an oily mess. When I would run the RC you would see an oil trail coming out of the exhaust. I also had issues getting the vehicles to start swapped to odonell's and never had the issues again.

As for the engine problem could be a few things stuck at BDC, broken con rod, bushing in the conrod shatter where it would block the piston (I've had that happen once when the engine didn't get up to 270ish in breakin)
SyCo_VeNoM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 08:06 AM
  #11
1QwkSport2.5r
 
1QwkSport2.5r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cottage Grove, MN
Posts: 8,674
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Extra oil won't hurt during break-in, I use 14-18% oil to break in most of my car engines. Having extra oil allows a leaner needle setting which gives more rpm which gives more heat which helps the engine break in. This may make my method sound crude or wrong, but it works for me very well. Even in Traxxas 3.3's. I do change over to 20-30% nitro and 8-10% oil after a half gallon or so.

So I don't think fuel is the problem per sé but fuel mixture could be suspect. Too rich on the Low could load it up and cause a hydraulic lock. Check this first, pull the plug. If the piston won't come loose after it's cooled and sat for a few hours even with the plug out, I'd hit it with a hair dryer and get the engine good and warm (hotter is better IMO) and try moving the flywheel again. If nothing still, I'd proceed to pulling the engine and inspecting. I much prefer the more simpler approach at first. Sometimes it can save a lot of time.
1QwkSport2.5r is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 09:58 AM
  #12
rgburrill
 
rgburrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Trumbull, CT
Posts: 1,689
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Just remember, you open that engine you void the warranty.
rgburrill is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 10:11 AM
  #13
SyCo_VeNoM
 
SyCo_VeNoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 12,761
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1QwkSport2.5r View Post
Too rich on the Low could load it up and cause a hydraulic lock.
Well the engine I said that broke its brass bushing on the conrod that is actually what happened it hydrolocked(would do it a lot actually), and the roto start that I was using button got jammed(side note I threw the roto starter out a little after that). Also it never would reach proper break in temps with stock settings (it hit like 170 on a 95 degree day after 20 mins...)
SyCo_VeNoM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 10:34 AM
  #14
1QwkSport2.5r
 
1QwkSport2.5r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cottage Grove, MN
Posts: 8,674
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SyCo_VeNoM View Post
Well the engine I said that broke its brass bushing on the conrod that is actually what happened it hydrolocked(would do it a lot actually), and the roto start that I was using button got jammed(side note I threw the roto starter out a little after that). Also it never would reach proper break in temps with stock settings (it hit like 170 on a 95 degree day after 20 mins...)
If covering the head alone won't get it to heat up, you have to lean the needles down. Those OEM settings are only set to get the engine started. It's often overlooked in manuals so new guys don't always get the right information and their engine's life suffers because of it usually.

I've always had to lean the needles on my engines to get them hot enough when new.

Last edited by 1QwkSport2.5r; 04-05-2014 at 10:37 AM.
1QwkSport2.5r is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 12:54 PM
  #15
PeeBeMe
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: PHILADELPHIA, PA
Posts: 501
Default

Thanks guys.
PeeBeMe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 01:54 PM
  #16
PeeBeMe
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: PHILADELPHIA, PA
Posts: 501
Default

You were right, I broke the rod. I guess I'll have to order another one this week.
Is it hard to change out/in the rods ?
PeeBeMe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 02:11 PM
  #17
PeeBeMe
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: PHILADELPHIA, PA
Posts: 501
Default

Can I use another connecting rod from another engine ?
PeeBeMe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 02:13 PM
  #18
1QwkSport2.5r
 
1QwkSport2.5r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cottage Grove, MN
Posts: 8,674
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeeBeMe View Post
You were right, I broke the rod. I guess I'll have to order another one this week.
Is it hard to change out/in the rods ?
No, but make sure you didn't damage the piston or cylinder. If there are dings, you may be better off to replace the whole engine. A piston/liner, and conrod can cost 1/2-3/4 of what a whole engine costs. If you do just get the rod, get new wristpin clips for the piston. You don't really want to re-use the old ones. Replacing the rod is pretty easy and straight forward except the rod has to go on the crankshaft only one way (the side with the chamfer).

Last edited by 1QwkSport2.5r; 04-05-2014 at 03:22 PM. Reason: Fixed typo.
1QwkSport2.5r is online now  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:15 AM.