RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Hyper 7 connecting rod broke ??

Reply
Old 04-05-2014, 02:14 PM
  #1
PeeBeMe
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: PHILADELPHIA, PA
Posts: 501
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hyper 7 connecting rod broke ??

Can I use a rod from another engine and does it have to be from the same size engine ?
PeeBeMe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 02:58 PM
  #2
nitroexpress
 
nitroexpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sonoma, CA
Posts: 1,289
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

What specific engine do you have? So many were available with the Hyper Series. 21/26/28/32

Last edited by nitroexpress; 04-05-2014 at 03:57 PM.
nitroexpress is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 03:05 PM
  #3
SyCo_VeNoM
 
SyCo_VeNoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 12,770
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

pretty much same brand you need. Look in your engines manual and look for a part number last time I replaced one it was around $25 on a k4.6

also check what 1QwkSport2.5r said in your other post if the piston is damaged
SyCo_VeNoM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 03:11 PM
  #4
nitroexpress
 
nitroexpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sonoma, CA
Posts: 1,289
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Not many Force engine parts available, even at Nitrohouse. Check your manual to see if this will work.

http://www.advantagehobby.com/93093/OFN52286/?pcat=375

Last edited by nitroexpress; 04-05-2014 at 04:04 PM.
nitroexpress is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 03:15 PM
  #5
SyCo_VeNoM
 
SyCo_VeNoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 12,770
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

http://www.nitrohouse.com/Connecting...32_p_9087.html make sure its the same part as in your manual(the Force JL .28 manual I just read online has the same exact part #)

http://www.rcplanet.com/HPI_Connecti...Fenm7AodF1QAjA not sure if it would work as it states its for a SG shaft (I will be honest I forgot the different shaft definitions), but the F4.6 is a Force .28

Last edited by SyCo_VeNoM; 04-05-2014 at 03:21 PM.
SyCo_VeNoM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 05:45 PM
  #6
PeeBeMe
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: PHILADELPHIA, PA
Posts: 501
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Jl.28 max engine
PeeBeMe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 06:49 PM
  #7
phmaximus
 
phmaximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Adelaide, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 6,636
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I wouldent bother with that to much.... First thing to do is get the piston and sleeve out the motor....u need to do this anyway to replace the rod. But more importantly u need to inspect both the piston and sleeve first.


the joys of nitro... 1 little mistake can kill the engine. And it's not like nitro motors are cheap
phmaximus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 02:26 PM
  #8
PeeBeMe
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: PHILADELPHIA, PA
Posts: 501
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi, I have the JL.28 max engine thats in the hyper 7 black
PeeBeMe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 02:28 PM
  #9
PeeBeMe
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: PHILADELPHIA, PA
Posts: 501
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

True. Thanks
PeeBeMe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 02:29 PM
  #10
nitroexpress
 
nitroexpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sonoma, CA
Posts: 1,289
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeeBeMe View Post
Hi, I have the JL.28 max engine thats in the hyper 7 black
http://www.advantagehobby.com/93093/OFN52286/?pcat=375
nitroexpress is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 02:48 PM
  #11
SyCo_VeNoM
 
SyCo_VeNoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 12,770
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phmaximus View Post
I wouldent bother with that to much.... First thing to do is get the piston and sleeve out the motor....u need to do this anyway to replace the rod. But more importantly u need to inspect both the piston and sleeve first.


the joys of nitro... 1 little mistake can kill the engine. And it's not like nitro motors are cheap
well in retrospect one little mistake can destroy a brushless motor, ESC, or even a whole RC which usually cost the same or more then a decent nitro engine Just look at the damage a broken bearing can cause in a BL motor can short out the coil that would damage the ESC junking the whole system. On the engine I seen a conrod sleeve, and piston set for his engine for $40 so its not like its a insanely huge issue if its all trashed.
SyCo_VeNoM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 05:11 PM
  #12
phmaximus
 
phmaximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Adelaide, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 6,636
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I know.... Lol just messing around, but when u think of it..... The chances of that happening of a brushless RTR kit is low, and generally it can be claimed under warranty.
phmaximus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:32 PM.