RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Electric rc car (not fully working)

Reply
Old 04-25-2014, 09:21 PM
  #1
senanchamma
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: aucklandauckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Electric rc car (not fully working)

Hi all i have an On road RC which i bought of online as used, it was supposed to be working the issue is that it works for the first 5 seconds then stops and there is a red flashing light on the ECS
it is also very slow slower than my 1990's RC car .. the specs are as below

Brushless Year racing motor
Year Racing ECS 35A-SL

i just want it to get up and running..

please help..
senanchamma is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2014, 10:33 PM
  #2
Maj_Overdrive
 
Maj_Overdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,554
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

First of all there is no such company as Year Racing, it's actually Yeah Racing. I went on the Yeah Racing site and found the manual for your esc and motor combo.

http://www.yeahracing.com/catalog/bm...or-p-2272.html

Unfortunately it doesn't say anything about the red LED other than it should light up when giving throttle. Most other esc's will flash the LED when the Low Voltage Cutoff (LVC) kicks in to protect the battery. I suspect that's what happening here. You can look at the manual to find out how to reset the LVC for your battery. I'd also recommend recalibrating the esc to your radio just to be sure that's not an issue.

Last edited by Maj_Overdrive; 04-26-2014 at 01:03 PM. Reason: Damn autocorrect
Maj_Overdrive is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2014, 08:13 AM
  #3
SyCo_VeNoM
 
SyCo_VeNoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 12,770
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Agree with Maj on the LVC as it looks like a relabeled 35A HobbyWing ESC, and the description you give where it goes slow, and then blinks is exactly what HobbyWing ESC's do when the battery voltage is under the LVC threshold.

Question is what kind of battery are you using on it?
SyCo_VeNoM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2014, 04:22 PM
  #4
senanchamma
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: aucklandauckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi all
thanks for the reply everyone.. its a YEAH RACING not a year racing it was a keyboard error


Ok i have an update..

I forgot to say what batteries im using im using 7.2V 3800MAH NIMH battery packs.. I have found out something..

I charged the batteries 100% and the rc car works
but only for 1 min or so then it goes back to slow and then drives then stops then drives then stops

But the first minute it drives so quick. just like i want it.




Some people said something about low voltage ,. what is that does it mean im getting out of battery?


Also i have a video and a photo of the car if you need of what it does.
but when i lift it of the floor and throttle it doesn't do that stop and go stop and go.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p9NB03hpuQo&feature=youtu.be
Ive listed the link of the video here it is again https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p9NB...ature=youtu.be


So il start all over again if you done know the story from the beginning


I have bought a used RC car it runs
Issues as below

I charge the battery full put it in the car it works all sweet for 1 minute or 2 max then after that it starts stopping and going stopping and going as shown in the vid
but when i lift it of the floor and press full throttle it doesnt stop and go?


What is the issue here?

thanks all..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo (23).JPG
Views:	58
Size:	172.3 KB
ID:	1990249  
senanchamma is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2014, 07:04 PM
  #5
phmaximus
 
phmaximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Adelaide, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 6,636
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I can confirm the Yeah Racing 35a ESC is in fact the same and 100% compatible with the Hobbywing ezrun 35a ESC.
i have both and can personally vouch for it.

only thing to be sure of, is version 1 and version 2.... So ideally u will need a v1 program card for a v1 and same deal with the v2

here is a manual for the V2

http://www.hobbywing.com/uploadfiles...l/HW-13-v2.pdf

and by the sounds u need to disable the LVD and..... Even with that disconnected there is a chance the battery might not be up to it
phmaximus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2014, 10:30 PM
  #6
senanchamma
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: aucklandauckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thank you so much phmaximus
how do i disable the LVD?
it seems hard to get the car programmed

I do have the card to program it but i don't know how to use it i plugged in the ECS cable and i got a battery pack plugged it in all i see it 2 lines on the programming card

And when i try to reset it manually I turn off ECS turn on remote with full throttle and turn on ECS after with the set button already pressed ok i done that then i turn off the car (ECS) and turn it ok but it doesn't work im new to this and im sort of lost all i want it to do is run with no issues

Now it still cuts of after a min or so of using the car..

If its just the LVD that you talked about how do i do it??


I think il stick to manual programming without the card as the card doesn't seem to be ok

if someone can help as im trying to understand the manual its not that well explained
thanks


senanchamma is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2014, 10:45 PM
  #7
senanchamma
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: aucklandauckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I think where im stuck at is the Low voltage cut off. i need to disable it.. HOW DO I DO THAT PLEASE

Please guide me step by step
The car works front back and stops no issues

But i need to know how to get it to stay running..



(ALSO PLEASE TELL ME ALL THE EXPERTS OUT THERE)
will my car get ruined if i disable the LVD the low voltage cut off. I NEVER USE anything else than 7.2V NIMH battery packs.. Please help
senanchamma is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2014, 01:02 PM
  #8
SyCo_VeNoM
 
SyCo_VeNoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 12,770
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

well 1st off to connect the programming card you need to unplug the ESC from the receiver
plug the ESC's plug into the right hand side spot on top of the card (well at least on mine which is a V2) The symbols where you plug it in should be a circle with a -, a circle with a +, and the final one should look like a squared off capital U (its actually the symbol for square wave, but thats not important here) The black wire on the plug coming off the ESC should goto the -, and the white to the square U symbol.
Once that is done turn the ESC on
(again these are for the V2)
Press the item button till the item # says 3
then press the value button till value says 1
after that press the OK button
then turn the ESC off, reconnect it to the receiver, and try it.
SyCo_VeNoM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2014, 03:19 PM
  #9
phmaximus
 
phmaximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Adelaide, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 6,636
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

^agreed..



edit
Oops I dident read ur post correctly and was thinking of another thread...

Last edited by phmaximus; 04-27-2014 at 08:55 PM.
phmaximus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2014, 12:52 AM
  #10
senanchamma
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: aucklandauckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

SyCo_VeNoM


I have a CARD to program t
he ECS . I did do what you said exactly
Check the video i made for you to see i did exactly what you have advised me to do..


Here is the link if the video doesn't show..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kiiS...ature=youtu.be



Please help me as i want it running ASAP.
senanchamma is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2014, 12:52 AM
  #11
senanchamma
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: aucklandauckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kiiSvlJhyro&feature=youtu.be
senanchamma is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2014, 12:44 PM
  #12
SyCo_VeNoM
 
SyCo_VeNoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 12,770
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Honestly my guess is the battery is not up to the task as the ESC, and electronics obviously are working fine from what I see in the video.
NiMh's, and brushless vehicles do not mix well, and are usually not good enough.
Other problem is with NiMh's (which I just thought about) is they suck till you have 10-20 cycles into them as they false peak. I had a 5200mah pack that would cut out after 4 mins of use in a brushed vehicle. Every time I charged it the time it ran got a tad longer, and once it hit its 14th or so charge it was around 20 mins. Other thing is you can't charge them too fast as the charger will detect them charged before they are, and shut down.
SyCo_VeNoM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2014, 05:27 PM
  #13
senanchamma
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: aucklandauckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

So you think I can't get running with an Nimh at all??


ok
what battery should I buy
is it called lipo?

and what charger ?

i need a good advice please
senanchamma is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 08:07 AM
  #14
SyCo_VeNoM
 
SyCo_VeNoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 12,770
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

http://www.hobbypartz.com/thac6smbachw.html charger

battery... hmm that I can't help as lipos sometimes are hard to fit. I'm not familiar with that chassis you got so I can't give any real recs on battery
SyCo_VeNoM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2014, 12:13 AM
  #15
phmaximus
 
phmaximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Adelaide, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 6,636
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Here is a very universal battery, it's more expensive than the more common square lipo packs because it's got rounded edges and profile like the old nimh packs

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Duratrax-LiP...item43c7e56ff9
phmaximus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 05:51 AM
  #16
Foxy
Moderator
 
Foxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Kingston UK, but living in Athens, GREECE
Posts: 18,082
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

As others have stated, get yourself a cheap ($25) 5000mAh 2S 7.4v battery, the charger linked above, and you'll be all set. The car will also perform MUCH better with this type of battery than it ever would with the 7.2v you were trying in the first place.
Foxy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:32 PM.