RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Novak Havoc esc not powering on.

Reply

Old 05-06-2014, 06:07 AM
  #1  
Minkis815
Thread Starter
 
Minkis815's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: N. Grosvenordale, CT
Posts: 193
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Novak Havoc esc not powering on.

I'm not sure if I should just trash it or send it out to be repaired. I ran it in my spec pan car. One cell lipo. So it's not like I over powered it an fried anything. It just quit. I ran a 13.5 spec motor, so I don't know why it would just quit. I mean, it's not a very expensive ESC, so is it even worth repairing? I have an old GTB in the car now and it works great. But I need another ESC for my Losi 22. And the havoc would work just fine. Normally I'd just buy another ESC from Novak, but if I can save $100-$200 I would like too.
Minkis815 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 06:42 AM
  #2  
Minkis815
Thread Starter
 
Minkis815's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: N. Grosvenordale, CT
Posts: 193
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

So I hit the throttle and the blue and green light flash.
Steering servo works, everything is powered like it should. Brake applied and the red light comes on. But no response to motor.
Minkis815 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 06:47 AM
  #3  
Maj_Overdrive
Senior Member
My Feedback: (11)
 
Maj_Overdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,554
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Sounds like the control side of the esc is fine but the motor power side is fried. Last I checked Novaks site had the repair fees online, if not give them a call and see of it's worth it.
Maj_Overdrive is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 03:41 PM
  #4  
Minkis815
Thread Starter
 
Minkis815's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: N. Grosvenordale, CT
Posts: 193
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I emailed novak, and Charlie from tech support said it could be a motor or the ESC. But before I do anything crazy he said to put new deans plugs on it. Test it, try a different motor. Then email him back. He said most of the time it's just a bad connector. I'll try it tomorrow. I got another motor I can wire up.
Minkis815 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 09:47 AM
  #5  
Ttowntoolman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Theresa, WI
Posts: 587
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I have a Havok esc sitting around. When I put anything besides a 20c burst rate 7.4 lipo in it and try to power it up it blinks and does nothing. If I put my old 20c venom lipo in it she works perfect. Probably doesn't help you much I realize, but if you have an old 20c lipo sittin around try it. I cannot figure out why this happens, but if I hook any other 7.4 lipo up it does not power up. This has been a real head scratcher for me. Does not matter what motor I hook up to it 8.5/13.5/17.5 all are the same.
Ttowntoolman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 02:57 PM
  #6  
Minkis815
Thread Starter
 
Minkis815's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: N. Grosvenordale, CT
Posts: 193
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I ran this esc on a one cell lipo for years. 5000mah 50c 3.7v. Worked fine. Put it in my mod truck and ran it for like a solid year and it also worked fine. Just pulled it back out to put in my new Losi 22. And nothing. Brakes work. Just no throttle.
Minkis815 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 03:45 AM
  #7  
Ttowntoolman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Theresa, WI
Posts: 587
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Mine does nothing at all, just blinks when you first turn on the power switch. Sounds like a completely different situation....... Did you check the sensor wires? I have had one of the wires in the sensor bundle break on me and it was game over until I replaced it. I don't recall if the brakes still worked though......

Last edited by Ttowntoolman; 05-08-2014 at 03:48 AM.
Ttowntoolman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 11:21 AM
  #8  
Minkis815
Thread Starter
 
Minkis815's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: N. Grosvenordale, CT
Posts: 193
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I tried two different motors, both known good motors. New connectors different batteries. It's fried. It's getting sent out to novak for repair.
Minkis815 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service