Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Charging question in regards to mah. and a digital charger

Hello All,
    Im glad I found this site. I was HEAVY into racing about 20 years ago. I just recently decided to get back into it.
    So much has changed since my first RC10 and first RC10gt!!

I just purchased a new Starter Box for nitro that requires two 7.2 battery packs. I also purchased a digital charger which
    I have never used before. all of my chargers back in the day where simple chargers. My question is, I would like to charger
    both batteries at the same time. I have the connections for this, but what I need to know is.

Say I have two 7.2v packs. That gives me a voltage rating of 14.4 correct? * SO I set my charger for 14.4.

What I not sure about is if each pack is 2000mah,, would I set the digital charger mah setting for 2000mah
    or 4000mah?

Im thinking that the charger would see the two packs as 12 cells each at 1.2v all as one unit.

With a overall mah setting of 2000mah????

Please enlighten. Feel free to throw in some discharge settings as well is you feel like it.

Thanks and nice site!!

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Charging one at a time is safer and easier. It may be longer, but thats better than having a fire from your batteries.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    they're nickel packs, right? set your charger to the nickel setting and input the info it asks for. my 2 chargers are peak chargers, which means you set the output amperage and it does the rest. i'm willing to bet yours is the same. weather it'll see a 12 cell at 2000mah or a 6 cell at 4000mah is completely dependent on the harness.
    HELP! IM STUCK ON AN ESCALATOR!

Gallery