Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

ecx ruckus upgrades?

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2014, 02:00 PM
NikitaNoel

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ecx ruckus upgrades?

My husband recently bought the 2wd ecx ruckus and loves it, so for christmas i was wanting to get some upgrades for him. If I ask him too many questions he will get suspicious so I was hoping somebody on here could help me figure out the best stuff to get him. I am very new to all this so sorry if i sound ignorant. He has an 8.2v lipo battery, everything else is stock. I was looking to get him a brushless motor, checked out the sv3 sidewinder 12v waterproof esc if anybody has any input on weather that is the best choice or not, i also need to know what gearing ratio he would need to be at in order for that to work best. Need to know what cooling fan would fit best or if one is even really needed, and i couldnt find much on it but is there a 4x4 conversion kit, if there is what all would i need to get to make that work best. Any input is greatly appreciated thank you.
Old 11-29-2014, 05:30 PM
nitrosportsandrunner

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

sorry, no 4x4 conversion for that truck.

The SV3 sidewinder is a decent system that will work well. the traxxas vxl system is also good (make sure it is the vxl3s)
The ruckus is light, either of those systems will work without having to add a fan.

You can likely use the stock gearing if you choose a motor in the 3000-3500kv range. A motor in that range (kv is like RPM's per volt) should work with the stock gearing. And I almost think the ruckus came with 2 different pinion gears to use.

does his ruckus have a radio with a long metal antenna....or a radio with a small black plastic antenna?
Old 11-29-2014, 05:44 PM
NikitaNoel

Small black plastic antenna.
Old 11-29-2014, 06:21 PM
NikitaNoel