Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Opinions on Traxxas E-Revo 1/16

Search this Thread

Old 03-29-2015, 08:32 AM
boomgreen87

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Opinions on Traxxas E-Revo 1/16

I'm thinking of maybe getting the Traxxas E-Revo 1/16 and it's on sale right now at Best Buy for $229.99 CAD. What are your opinions on it?
Old 03-29-2015, 08:47 AM
EXT2Rob
My Feedback: (1)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I have no personal experience with the MERV, but just about everyone here says that it needs a bunch of aftermarket parts to make it bashable. Maybe some of them will come along to advise you. I have found that just about any RTR vehicle you get at least needs good aftermarket bumpers from RPM or T-Bone Racing. Even if a particular vehicle comes with bumpers, they're usually more for looks than function. If you're going to be bashing, not racing, good bumpers are a must. For instance, my buddy and I bought OFNA Hyper 10TT's. Well-built, nice features. But we were breaking suspension arms almost every time we'd get together. Got front and rear T-Bone Racing bumpers. Cut our breakage to near ZERO.

Before getting the Hyper TT, I was looking at the MERV too, but the folks here kinda warned me off, and someone suggested I look at the Hyper TT. Glad they did, as I'm very happy with it. Bought it new as a "roller" from NitroHouse for like $180. Roller = fully assembled minus electronics. Put in a $75 HobbyWing EZrun motor system and a $50 Hitec servo. Already had FlySky radio gear. I LOVE it. We have tons of fun with them.
Old 03-29-2015, 09:08 AM
boomgreen87

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by EXT2Rob