Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Car General Discussions
Reload this Page >

Interchangeable parts - universal standard?

Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Interchangeable parts - universal standard?

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2016, 12:11 AM
m1tch_87

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Interchangeable parts - universal standard?

Hi all,

I am new to RC and I am currently looking at the gearing options, currently have a basic FTX Carnage nitro truck which has a .18 engine, stock clutch bell is 14t, spur gears are 50t in 1st and 45t in 2nd.

I am just wondering if there are any universal parts I can use to be able to swap out to different ratios as FTX (being a cheap and basic make) doesn't really have any hop up parts for transmission, although I have noticed that they do have a 16t clutch bell off a different model which I might be able to use.

Am I able to interchange clutch bells at all? Eg take a clutch bell from another .18 engine with the same shaft size and fit it to my engine? Also, are there any universal gear options - eg spur gears with multiple fitting holes to mount to various makes?

Thanks in advance!
Old 02-11-2016, 09:00 AM
mattster1971

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

The only thing you have to be cautious of when switching to another companies clutch bell is making sure the pitch is the same. Also if its two speed I am imagining that the bell has duel gears ? You need to be sure you are pairing it up to two spurs that are similiar difference in teeth number so that the mess is still correct. I once attempted to put a Novarossi clutch bell on a Hyper and the mesh wasn't right.
Old 02-11-2016, 10:05 AM
SyCo_VeNoM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts