RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

What have you done to your RC today?

Reply

Old 07-14-2016, 01:46 PM
  #51  
RustyUs
Thread Starter
 
RustyUs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: central PA
Posts: 4,409
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by mattster1971 View Post
how does it make a difference? I am curious if I should have these on my Axials, but I am running the Castle Creations Mamba max pro which has a built in BEC but should I have an external also?
Well, apparently I overlooked, or just plain didn't care, one spec on those "blue" budget ESCs. The spec on the ESC's BEC state 5v . I measured the output of the BECs and came away with a high reading of 5.2v and one had a low reading of 4.9v if my memory is right. Anyway. The Castle Creations BEC allows you to select what output you want (4.8v ~ 9v). I have the CC BEC set at 6v (receiver/servo are only rated for 6v max).That one extra volt, that is now flowing to my servo, made a noticeable difference indeed. Some newer ESCs will even allow you to select the BEC voltage in cases that a HV servo is being used.

Last edited by RustyUs; 07-14-2016 at 01:53 PM.
RustyUs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2016, 02:00 PM
  #52  
RustyUs
Thread Starter
 
RustyUs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: central PA
Posts: 4,409
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by mattster1971 View Post
how does it make a difference? I am curious if I should have these on my Axials, but I am running the Castle Creations Mamba max pro which has a built in BEC but should I have an external also?
The Mamba Max Pro has a selective BEC output (5v~7.2v). I don't know what the default setting is on the ESC, but check it out.

Update: MMP default BEC setting is 5.5 volts, and I believe you need Castle Link or Feild Link to change the settings.
Do you have a Castle Link?

Last edited by RustyUs; 07-14-2016 at 02:11 PM. Reason: added info
RustyUs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2016, 08:40 AM
  #53  
mattster1971
 
mattster1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Glen Burnie, MD
Posts: 657
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Thumbs up

Originally Posted by RustyUs View Post
The Mamba Max Pro has a selective BEC output (5v~7.2v). I don't know what the default setting is on the ESC, but check it out.

Update: MMP default BEC setting is 5.5 volts, and I believe you need Castle Link or Feild Link to change the settings.
Do you have a Castle Link?
Yes I have it, and in the Yeti I have it up to 6.5 volts because its running the servo and the lights. I have the Wraith up to 7.0 because I have the high voltage servo and lights on it. You think that is adequate? At 7 its pumping about 440 sq in of torque 480 is the highest at 7.2 or .5 cant remember.
mattster1971 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2016, 03:26 PM
  #54  
RustyUs
Thread Starter
 
RustyUs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: central PA
Posts: 4,409
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Adequate? I can't answer that fully. As long as you are not exceeding the lowest maximum rated component in the chain...you should be fine. I haven't dealt with high voltage gear and lights, then trying to run everything off the main battery.

Did nothing RC related today, except for researching specs and tweeking Evader ST's & SC10's setup. After reading about everyone's huge torque-ish servos, I sit here, and think I need to get another CC BEC for the Yeti. The time will come soon enough for when I want to increase more servo brute force.
RustyUs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2016, 03:44 PM
  #55  
RustyUs
Thread Starter
 
RustyUs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: central PA
Posts: 4,409
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I did do something "RC" today...I went and programmed all of my ESC's LVCs back down to 3.2v /cell. I'm always on the fence with "where" to set the LVC at. I used to have some ESCs set at 3v/cell and others at 3.4v/cell. When I did have the ones that were set at 3v/cell, I always had to feed my curiosity to what the actual cell voltages were coming off the track. Most of the time the cells were at 3.4v after a minute of rest. Occasionally I'd get a cell reading 3.2v, but I never recall anything lower than that.

I'll stop, 'cause I'm just babblin' now.
RustyUs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2016, 02:11 PM
  #56  
RustyUs
Thread Starter
 
RustyUs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: central PA
Posts: 4,409
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I couldn't take it anymore. Between runs at the track...replacing the original hub carriers on the B4. The right side was sooo worn out from digging bearings out of it over the years. Lots of slop. Another culprit:

Haha. The rest of the balls are in my keyboard. Shazbot, nanu nanu!

Update: Oh my word. The outer hinge pin is in the arm real good. That thing just doesn't want to come out. Too late now...PB Blaster is applied and I don't remember what plastics the stuff will affect .
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	20160717_174810.jpg
Views:	522
Size:	872.8 KB
ID:	2173326  

Last edited by RustyUs; 07-17-2016 at 02:27 PM.
RustyUs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2016, 04:38 PM
  #57  
seedygreenute
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 294
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

That bearing looks as good as my tires !
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	170616 002.jpg
Views:	516
Size:	1.30 MB
ID:	2173330  
seedygreenute is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2016, 06:20 PM
  #58  
finewayne
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 36
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I got my SR5 dirtbike up and running again
finewayne is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2016, 03:11 AM
  #59  
RustyUs
Thread Starter
 
RustyUs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: central PA
Posts: 4,409
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by seedygreenute View Post
That bearing looks as good as my tires !
Ouch. Are those belted GRP tires? Please tell me you were running at extreme speeds.
RustyUs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2016, 06:05 AM
  #60  
seedygreenute
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 294
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

They "were" GRPs ... lol
Not sure if I hit something , ( maybe a small rock ) or the nose just lifted .
The car was basically on the wheelie bar and rear wing ( all 4 wheels off the ground ) and I think that second of free revving was enough to make them let go !
It did make a bang when it all happened .
No other damage so it's all good .
seedygreenute is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2016, 05:44 AM
  #61  
mattster1971
 
mattster1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Glen Burnie, MD
Posts: 657
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by seedygreenute View Post
They "were" GRPs ... lol
Not sure if I hit something , ( maybe a small rock ) or the nose just lifted .
The car was basically on the wheelie bar and rear wing ( all 4 wheels off the ground ) and I think that second of free revving was enough to make them let go !
It did make a bang when it all happened .
No other damage so it's all good .
You are way lucky that thing didn't do an end over end when it went up like that.
mattster1971 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 08:04 PM
  #62  
phmaximus
 
phmaximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Adelaide, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 6,709
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

What have I done?

Ive made up a new camera platform and battery tray for my FPV Crawler out of 1.5mm carbon fiber and rearranged the electronics. I still need to rewire the vTX and fan but u get the idea.

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	13718813_10208903685602468_172113464655238791_n.jpg
Views:	508
Size:	86.5 KB
ID:	2174158   Click image for larger version

Name:	13729067_10208903686002478_5478828314082285930_n.jpg
Views:	489
Size:	62.8 KB
ID:	2174159   Click image for larger version

Name:	13754552_10208903685842474_406950063770039805_n.jpg
Views:	494
Size:	80.7 KB
ID:	2174160  
phmaximus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 08:21 PM
  #63  
phmaximus
 
phmaximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Adelaide, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 6,709
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

here are a few pics of it with the body on

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	13435399_10208583194030379_6985975252891787021_n.jpg
Views:	493
Size:	71.5 KB
ID:	2174162   Click image for larger version

Name:	13342980_10208583195270410_6280637360704582268_n.jpg
Views:	495
Size:	67.5 KB
ID:	2174163   Click image for larger version

Name:	13442348_10208583195070405_7853799325852434772_n.jpg
Views:	498
Size:	67.4 KB
ID:	2174164  
phmaximus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2016, 09:32 AM
  #64  
RustyUs
Thread Starter
 
RustyUs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: central PA
Posts: 4,409
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by phmaximus View Post
What have I done?

Ive made up a new camera platform and battery tray for my FPV Crawler out of 1.5mm carbon fiber and rearranged the electronics. I still need to rewire the vTX and fan but u get the idea.

Sweet. I'm not up on the latest gear out there. But can you record with the camera as well, or do you have to use a receiving device to do it?

Last edited by RustyUs; 07-24-2016 at 09:37 AM.
RustyUs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2016, 08:28 PM
  #65  
shannon23455
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 23
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Cool

Today I finally got around to fixing my truggy after jamming it into a fence pole at full noise after the throttle stuck. Just waiting on a top cap for the shock. Rebuild that with some heavier oil all round and she'll be going once again.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	121
Size:	214.0 KB
ID:	2174308   Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	119
Size:	1.65 MB
ID:	2174309   Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	121
Size:	1.33 MB
ID:	2174310   Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	492
Size:	1.39 MB
ID:	2174311  
shannon23455 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2016, 01:13 AM
  #66  
seedygreenute
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 294
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hey phmaximus ,
FPV rock crawling sounds like it would be rather tricky . Do you run the same course as the normal crawlers ?
Black truck looks sweet !!!
seedygreenute is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2016, 02:35 PM
  #67  
RustyUs
Thread Starter
 
RustyUs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: central PA
Posts: 4,409
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Have I ...

No. Nothing. Not much anyway. It's too hot and storm is going through the area. So I am stuck in garage finishing up with mounting a motor; thinking about my B4 running with freshly greased bearings, and how I gotta ease up on spending for awhile to pay for $6k+ AC/heat pump unit . Just one of the joys of life and making those mortgage payments.

Also, I'm on page 612 if a 900 page SC10 thread. Call me weird, but I enjoy reading everyone's input in a massive RC thread like that. When I get a new (or used RC in this case) I like to read everything I can about the platform. Sometimes it gets redundant on some subjects, e.g. springs, counter weights, springs, tires, best motor, springs, which is better...gear diff, or ball diff, and then let's talk some more spring science . Everyone is so freaking out over springs rubbing on shock bodies...so much drama. But it fills up my nights when there is nothing good on TV.

I got about 8 months worth of posts to read before I get to where the SC10.2 FT comes into action. But I already read one 252 page thread in one forum on that platform .
RustyUs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2016, 02:37 PM
  #68  
RustyUs
Thread Starter
 
RustyUs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: central PA
Posts: 4,409
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

SC10 out in the heat. It's 94F and I increased the EPA on the throttle to 100% for a few laps. I don't do that too often, but I had a couple of damp spots on the tack that gave up some decent traction. The rest of the track, well let's just say I reeled back the throttle to my normal 70% ~ 75% in quick fashion.

Another hash mark on the board. That means I have about 22 packs ran through the SC10 with Gladiators mounted on the rear. A good guess to the amount of tread I've used so far, 1/3 .

My track screams to be taken on by a 4wd RC. Moderate speeds with a 2wd RC is fine for this boy most days, but today I wishing I had a 4wd SC.running on 2S.

Next up: Associated B4 hits the track before the sun goes down.

Edit: B4 run cut short...dog had wild hair up his butt; wouldn't leave my buggy alone. I didn't want to overheat the guy (dog) so I picked up the buggy and headed for the house. The bearings worked great and B4 was quite once more.

Time for a shower and then ice-cream .

Last edited by RustyUs; 07-26-2016 at 04:00 PM.
RustyUs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2016, 08:20 AM
  #69  
The Saylors
Senior Member
 
The Saylors's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Tacoma, Wa
Posts: 551
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Why not ice cream in the shower? works for beer
The Saylors is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 06:46 PM
  #70  
DieHarder
 
DieHarder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 2,984
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Looking good man! I picked up an Armattan Rev2 with the tilt and PDB upgrades. Runs a vector system, simon k's, the T-motors, etc. Just bought a bunch of stuff to fix a couple RCs and upgrade the SCX10 some more. Now I'm saving up for a set of Dominator V3s and Taranis X9D Plus used off RC Groups to use.

Next spring when I build my 6x6, FPV will be going in that and I'm on the hunt for a body that would allow a 960TVL to get a good view behind the windshield (liking the Tamiya Bullhead body) and a view of some instrument gauges I'll be putting in.

I've been wondering if putting the camera behind the windshield would distort the focus at all and I noticed that you put it through the windshield. It looks like you had plenty of room behind the windshield, did you have that problem?
Originally Posted by phmaximus View Post
here are a few pics of it with the body on

DieHarder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2016, 08:22 PM
  #71  
seedygreenute
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 294
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default



Bit of an upgrade for the 1/16 E-Revo .
The App is so much quicker and easier to use !
I hated counting flashing lights !!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	007.jpg
Views:	489
Size:	1.14 MB
ID:	2175839  
seedygreenute is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2016, 07:04 PM
  #72  
seedygreenute
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 294
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Returned to the scene of the GRP incident and worked out what I hit ... a catseye / reflector on the road .
For some reason these ones are coloured blue and blend in with the road surface in the shadows .
Plus it was a bit further up the road than I thought .... you can blame my driving , not the tires !!!
Anyway , stayed out of the shadows and cracked 100 mph !!! ... Just !!!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	070816 005.jpg
Views:	478
Size:	1.06 MB
ID:	2176027  
seedygreenute is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 09:11 AM
  #73  
RustyUs
Thread Starter
 
RustyUs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: central PA
Posts: 4,409
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Pre-run checklists.

Each RC has it's own little problem here and there, and over the years you just deal with it (at least I do). Case in point, Duratrax Evader ST Pro's rear suspension arm mounts. I'm always checking the rear arms for "looseness". One screw seems to loosen a bit every so often, and I gotta tighten it one full turn so it's snug again.

Having done the above...RC stadium truck Sunday commencing.

The dog checks his usual spots for chipmunks; groundhogs, and other outdoor rodents, then he insists on running down my truck as I'm "getting into it". I get mad at him; yell, and he resumes hunting other animals. Five more minutes past by; we repeat everything. I get mad, and yell, then repeat . I'm gonna have to resort to putting dog on leash.
RustyUs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 01:43 PM
  #74  
RustyUs
Thread Starter
 
RustyUs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: central PA
Posts: 4,409
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Landing RCs at weird angles; one tire at a time, this will test a part's durability. Continually doing this, and your luck will run out eventually. After bringing the ST into the garage, I noticed the plastic cups on the camber links were a little wonky looking.


No wonder, I only had a couple of the turnbuckle's threads inside AE's ball cups that were too short. Chalk another "what were you thinking" moment up for me. I never really liked stock Associated ballcups. Rummaging through pit box, it was time to use up new old stock Losi/Duratrax parts. Now I have a hodgepodge of ball cups holding my front end together. Losi, Duratrax, and RPM all working together for the cause.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	20160807_175033.jpg
Views:	479
Size:	698.5 KB
ID:	2176199  

Last edited by RustyUs; 08-15-2016 at 10:24 AM.
RustyUs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2016, 10:19 AM
  #75  
RustyUs
Thread Starter
 
RustyUs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: central PA
Posts: 4,409
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I've been laying low RCing in the sense that...too humid/hot or thunderstorms come into play when I want to go to the track.

The Evader ST ended the life of another rear wheel. All stadium trucks waiting for new rubber, and/or wheels to be dug out of storage.

Torched up the HobbyFans motor today in the mucky weather. First run with SC10 and proper wheels/tires glued up. Either the Badland tires, bearings giving out, the outside temp; throttle EPA set at 100%, or all the above had a hand in raising my motor temps to 183~185F, and that was after a 60 second walk back to the garage to grab my temp gun . Ouch! Battery was 127F; slipper plates 150F, and motor mounting plate had a reading of 149F. I never measured the temps of the slipper plate before but thought I would today seeing how high the temps were on everything else. The motor was taken off as I had felt more resistance than normal turning the tires by hand. Motor sure feels tough to turn. Will have to open it up as well as the gearbox...top shaft has way too much play in it. Bearing(s) busted up inside tranny?

Probably one more 2S run for the day; when sun starts to go down. Yeti, or B4? B4.I don't feel like adjusting the Yeti to fit battery. I feel real lazy today, and don't want to deal with four screws .
RustyUs is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service