Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Hello!!

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2016, 05:45 AM
Henry_b

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hello!!

Hello all, I'm Henry a 16yr old rc beginner.

I've just got a few questions..

My rc truggy a maverick XT EVO has a 13turn 540 motor what does that mean!?

And is my rc any good I've had her 4 yrs and have only driven her a handful of times, have any of you extremely knowledgable rc peeps heard of MAVERICK!!!

Thanks all..

Sorry about the way I have written this thread I'm a forum newbie!
Old 11-11-2016, 10:01 AM
jetmech05

You're in the airplane forum good luck
Old 11-11-2016, 10:58 AM
Hydro Junkie

Received 130 Likes on 123 Posts

I was going to say the same thing, you need to be in the car forum or, more specifically,
http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-e...gies-more-147/

Now that that's been cleared up, it's time to look at your motor questions. I'll try to keep it as simple as possible based on what I remember.
As far as the numbers go this is what they mean:
1) 540 This is a physical size designation. The higher the number, the bigger the physical size. This means, for the most part, that if you want to upgrade to get more speed, you need to verify the motor chosen is in the 540 size class.
2) 13 Turn This one is a little more complicated. The number of turns is what controls your motor speed and torque, along with the applied voltage. How this works is harder to explain since there are variables that I don't want to get into so, here goes nothing:
A) The number indicates how many times a wire was wrapped around the arms of the armature, the part inside the motor that actually spins, in most motors anyway.