Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

New to the RC world

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2017, 02:46 PM
RCH84

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to the RC world

Hey everyone whats going on? Like the title suggests I'm a noob that wants to start getting into RC cars/trucks and eventually racing, I just don't know where to start. I live in the Phoenix area and I've researched some RC stores/tracks in the area and I plan on visiting them soon. My main question is where is the best place to start? Are certain vehicles better to start out with, ex. truggy, buggy, truck, short track, car, and size, or is it mainly preference? Im pretty sure I want to start out electric just from everything I have read it seems like it's the easier place to start. Also what are some brands I should be looking into/staying away from. I don't want to dump a ton of money into it right away since I'm just starting out but at the same time I don't want junk. I hope I posted this in the right area, any help and info is much appreciated, thank you!

RCH84
Old 05-18-2017, 03:51 PM
RustyUs

Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts

You're on the right track (literally). By going to local tracks, you will have a better idea what classes are being run. You will also have a chance to see what others are running. Starting with a kit is always a good idea. Picking out what electronics you want rather than what is included in a RTR package. Who knows, maybe at one of the tracks there will be some used RCs for you to look at.

Last edited by RustyUs; 05-18-2017 at 04:00 PM.
Old 05-19-2017, 08:21 AM
The Saylors