Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Car General Discussions
Reload this Page >

I blew up my Duratrax Vendetta ST ESC...

Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

I blew up my Duratrax Vendetta ST ESC...

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2017, 12:05 PM
steve8091

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy I blew up my Duratrax Vendetta ST ESC...

Hi everyone - this is my first post on this forum. I am an absolute noob: I have a Losi Mini T and a Duratrax Vendetta ST, both of which were purchased about 6 or 7 years ago. We played with them a bit back then, and I've recently rediscovered them. I picked up some new batteries (the old ones didn't hold much of a charge anymore), and I started running them around. I noticed that the Duratrax Vendetta ESC would get very hot, even after running the car for a short time. This morning, I ran it for a bit longer, in slightly damp conditions (not raining, but the ground was a bit wet). I'm not sure if it was going to fail anyway (as it did tend to get hot), if the dampness did it, if it was the new battery, or if it was a failure to calibrate it (again, I know very little about the hobby), but after about 5 minutes of running, it started smoking. I was able to pull the top off, and I watched as the ESC smoked, sparked, crackled, and eventually it blew out.