Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

RC hobby on a budget

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2018, 01:24 PM
[email protected]

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RC hobby on a budget

Hi... I am fairly new to the hobby, and recently I bought a RedCat Blackout that I have been terribly disappointed with it's durability. This post is not to bash RedCat, but to determine what I should get going forward that will not break the bank, and will not need to be repaired every time I use it. I do not race, nor do I plan to race in the near future. We setup a course in our backyards to run. The course is a mix of terrain (grass, pavement, rocks, tire ruts, tree roots, and some 2"-3" high man-made jumps. We use cones to mark the turns, and we do our best to stay on the course.

I purchased the RedCat as a brushed model, and have since upgraded the motor and ESC to make it a brushless model, so if I could use those in the new car, that'd be great. The RedCatis a 1/10 scale car, so staying with that scale would be best. I am looking to keep it under $200.... but my biggest concern is durability... We don't try and crash our cars, but I can't be repairing after every session like I do with the RedCat. I have been toying with the idea of going with the Traxxas Bandit or Traxxas Rustler... but from the looks of the pictures, they look like they may not be all that durable.

Interested in hearing any suggestions the forum can offer.

Thanks
Old 04-17-2018, 04:58 PM
bill_delong

Received 51 Likes on 45 Posts

Traxxas would be the worst direction to go IMO, if anything the Blackout is at worst, equal durability with Traxxas, but I personally feel it's a pinch more durable.

The biggest struggle you're going to have is that your budget is not in line with your demands... would you be willing to buy used?