Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

single speed or 2 speed?

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2006, 02:57 PM
wingsformarie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default single speed or 2 speed?

I am a newbie and I just purchased a Himoto 1:10 Syclone 4wd buggy, It is the Single speed with a .18 tiawan engine. It is a single speed, I can upgrade it to a two speed for about 35$ plus shipping. Is It Worth it? What are the advatages? More low end torque @ low speeds, and high end torque at high speeds? Also, how is Himoto quality-wise? The price is right.[8D]
Old 08-21-2006, 05:51 PM
Dale Gribble
My Feedback: (4)

Default RE: single speed or 2 speed?

I would stick with the single speed and spend as very little as possible on this car. If you decide you don't like Nitro RC, then you aren't out that much money. If you decide you like it, then you need to get a real hobby level car. Don't kid yourself- you get what you pay for. You paid for a car with no hobby shop support, hard to find online support and very little cross model part compatibility. I have mixed feelings about those cars. Sure they have a cheaper entry point and might bring more people into the hobby, but on the other side, they might leave you with a bad taste in your mouth when you find you have no support for it.

There is a reason why people buy from reputable companies. They can go into their local hobby shops and get parts and advice from the guys, they can go onto towerhobbies and other reputable e-shops and get parts easily, they have an 800 number to call if they have problems, and they have a lot of aftermarket support along with more superior materials used in the first place. You are buying more then an RC car.