Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Question for the Racer Crowd

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-2007, 04:57 PM
BuzzBomber
My Feedback: (4)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Question for the Racer Crowd

I've been fiddling with r/c cars on and off since about 1987, when I got my first Tamiya Frog. I've been a pretty avid basher for the past 3-4 years, playing around with my cars once or twice a week average--I've even started using my cars more often than my r/c planes lately. Currently the (ahem) raceable cars I have are a Mini-LST2, a Mini Inferno Zero9(nitro version), and a first gen(.21 powered) Monster GT. I've hit the local tracks a couple times in the past year, and running laps and trying to improve my times is pretty addictive.

So, I'm at a crossroads. I'd like to try out racing, but I'm not sure what direction to go. It looks like 1/10 modified electric offroad ST, buggy, and 4wd buggy, 1/8th buggy, and truggy are the most popular here. After talking to a few of the local racers, it looks like I'd be able to race the MLST2 in 1/18th offroad, and the MGT, depending on the club rules for the upcoming season, might be able to race in production monster, or may be forced to run in 'unlimited monster'(1/8th truggy).

Any words of wisdom on what might be a good class to start out with racing? I'd like to use my existing vehicles, but there's no mini nitro class, so the inferno's out, the MGT would be at a real disadvantage if I have to run against truggies, and the MLST is a bit awkward running on a 1/10 - 1/8 scale track(some of the jumps are pretty harsh for a mini and I'm full throttle most of the time between them).