Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 16 of 16

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    gilbert, AZ
    Posts
    18
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    HELP esc red light on , how to reset? test?

    Hi guys,

    We have the red light on constant on the blue ESC, sp-03018, and it's not running. It got really hot too, and I'm worried we may have shorted it. There is no visible damage I can see. I see a little reset switch, which didn't help. It there a special way to reset it? Any common issues or solutions?

    Thanks a ton,

    Jeff

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    howard beach, NY
    Posts
    16,490
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: HELP esc red light on , how to reset? test?

    How did it get hot? I would say keep the button pressed in, wait 5 seconds and let go. See if that helps, if it got too hot it could have overheated and shut down or you could have fried it.
    125 characters and 2 lines is not enough to list my RC obsession!!!

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    gilbert, AZ
    Posts
    18
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: HELP esc red light on , how to reset? test?

    We ran a nimh 8.4v instead of the 7.2v stock battery. Thats a big deal I assume? Is there a stronger esc that could handle the 8.4 then?

    Thanks

  4. #4
    kuppler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Simi Valley, CA
    Posts
    2,909

    RE: HELP esc red light on , how to reset? test?


    ORIGINAL: praynked

    We ran a nimh 8.4v instead of the 7.2v stock battery. Thats a big deal I assume? Is there a stronger esc that could handle the 8.4 then?

    Thanks
    you might of fried it if you use the 8.4v. but you might get lucky and hope the esc shut down before it got fried.
    OFFICIAL HIMOTO RACING SUPPORT http://himotoracing.com, http://himotoracingusa.com
    Owner of The 805 Hobbies

  5. #5
    5lagd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    guelph, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    1,331
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: HELP esc red light on , how to reset? test?

    Just a thought? Check the throttle trim knob on your remote. If it is too far to the left or the right you wont have any throttle. Try to centre it.
    P4d4, Sl4sh & Vaterra Kemora

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    gilbert, AZ
    Posts
    18
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: HELP esc red light on , how to reset? test?

    I could reset it after unplugging, and pushing in button 5 secs, but then when I put the stock battery on it, it smokes a little again, and the red light comes back
    i know there are some esc's at the hobby shop locally, but are they interchangeable? I haven't seen em yet. Is there a stronger one that could handle the 8.4?

    Thanks

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    howard beach, NY
    Posts
    16,490
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: HELP esc red light on , how to reset? test?

    there are plenty of good ones on the market you could use, they are basically all interchangable, novak, tekin are a few good names. The novak rooster is a good esc, will handle your battery and has reverse.
    125 characters and 2 lines is not enough to list my RC obsession!!!

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    gilbert, AZ
    Posts
    18
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: HELP esc red light on , how to reset? test?

    would those work if we got a brushless later?

    thanks for the info.

    hey kuppler, they're sending that replacement radio and receiver, ups ground though, so it will be like tuesday or later when it arrives i guess

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    howard beach, NY
    Posts
    16,490
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: HELP esc red light on , how to reset? test?

    No, you would need a brushless esc for that.
    125 characters and 2 lines is not enough to list my RC obsession!!!

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    shawigan lake, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    54
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: HELP esc red light on , how to reset? test?

    Hey! i have the exact same problem with my ESC! but i couldnt find a switch or button to reset it! and it has a red light that goes on too! anyone got any suggestions?
    http://r.yuwie.com/austin25/

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    warren, OH
    Posts
    148
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: HELP esc red light on , how to reset? test?

    i't not batteries i got a plane that runs on 8.4 nimh or 7.4 lipo never had any problems.

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    howard beach, NY
    Posts
    16,490
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: HELP esc red light on , how to reset? test?


    ORIGINAL: unknown25

    Hey! i have the exact same problem with my ESC! but i couldnt find a switch or button to reset it! and it has a red light that goes on too! anyone got any suggestions?
    what esc, car do you have, what is it doing? Does it work, move?
    125 characters and 2 lines is not enough to list my RC obsession!!!

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    shawigan lake, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    54
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: HELP esc red light on , how to reset? test?

    its a truck! its a sp-03018 ESC! I found the manual where it says the reset button is but i couldnt see it! right now the led is a red with no flashing just a straight red! i think if i found the reset button it may work! but i cant find it! do u know what it looks like?
    http://r.yuwie.com/austin25/

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    howard beach, NY
    Posts
    16,490
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: HELP esc red light on , how to reset? test?

    if it looks like this http://server.sohouniverse.net/~himo...p?id=1153&=SID its a small white rectangular button on the right side below the cooling fins.
    125 characters and 2 lines is not enough to list my RC obsession!!!

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    shawigan lake, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    54
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: HELP esc red light on , how to reset? test?

    ok ya it looks exactly like that! but i still cant seem to see it!
    http://r.yuwie.com/austin25/

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    howard beach, NY
    Posts
    16,490
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: HELP esc red light on , how to reset? test?

    here you go, circled in red
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ki18153.jpg 
Views:	134 
Size:	8.6 KB 
ID:	1117826  
    125 characters and 2 lines is not enough to list my RC obsession!!!


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:56 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.