RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

HELP esc red light on , how to reset? test?

Reply
Old 11-29-2008, 02:05 PM
  #1
praynked
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: gilbert, AZ
Posts: 18
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default HELP esc red light on , how to reset? test?

Hi guys,

We have the red light on constant on the blue ESC, sp-03018, and it's not running. It got really hot too, and I'm worried we may have shorted it. There is no visible damage I can see. I see a little reset switch, which didn't help. It there a special way to reset it? Any common issues or solutions?

Thanks a ton,

Jeff
praynked is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 02:49 PM
  #2
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: HELP esc red light on , how to reset? test?

How did it get hot? I would say keep the button pressed in, wait 5 seconds and let go. See if that helps, if it got too hot it could have overheated and shut down or you could have fried it.
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 03:40 PM
  #3
praynked
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: gilbert, AZ
Posts: 18
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: HELP esc red light on , how to reset? test?

We ran a nimh 8.4v instead of the 7.2v stock battery. Thats a big deal I assume? Is there a stronger esc that could handle the 8.4 then?

Thanks
praynked is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 03:42 PM
  #4
kuppler
 
kuppler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 2,909
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: HELP esc red light on , how to reset? test?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: praynked

We ran a nimh 8.4v instead of the 7.2v stock battery. Thats a big deal I assume? Is there a stronger esc that could handle the 8.4 then?

Thanks
you might of fried it if you use the 8.4v. but you might get lucky and hope the esc shut down before it got fried.
kuppler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 03:49 PM
  #5
5lagd
 
5lagd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: guelph, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,331
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: HELP esc red light on , how to reset? test?

Just a thought? Check the throttle trim knob on your remote. If it is too far to the left or the right you wont have any throttle. Try to centre it.
5lagd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 03:59 PM
  #6
praynked
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: gilbert, AZ
Posts: 18
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: HELP esc red light on , how to reset? test?

I could reset it after unplugging, and pushing in button 5 secs, but then when I put the stock battery on it, it smokes a little again, and the red light comes back
i know there are some esc's at the hobby shop locally, but are they interchangeable? I haven't seen em yet. Is there a stronger one that could handle the 8.4?

Thanks
praynked is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 04:50 PM
  #7
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: HELP esc red light on , how to reset? test?

there are plenty of good ones on the market you could use, they are basically all interchangable, novak, tekin are a few good names. The novak rooster is a good esc, will handle your battery and has reverse.
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 05:00 PM
  #8
praynked
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: gilbert, AZ
Posts: 18
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: HELP esc red light on , how to reset? test?

would those work if we got a brushless later?

thanks for the info.

hey kuppler, they're sending that replacement radio and receiver, ups ground though, so it will be like tuesday or later when it arrives i guess
praynked is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 05:04 PM
  #9
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: HELP esc red light on , how to reset? test?

No, you would need a brushless esc for that.
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 10:50 PM
  #10
unknown25
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: shawigan lake, BC, CANADA
Posts: 54
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: HELP esc red light on , how to reset? test?

Hey! i have the exact same problem with my ESC! but i couldnt find a switch or button to reset it! and it has a red light that goes on too! anyone got any suggestions?
unknown25 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 10:57 PM
  #11
john911
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: warren, OH
Posts: 148
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: HELP esc red light on , how to reset? test?

i't not batteries i got a plane that runs on 8.4 nimh or 7.4 lipo never had any problems.
john911 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 11:12 PM
  #12
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: HELP esc red light on , how to reset? test?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: unknown25

Hey! i have the exact same problem with my ESC! but i couldnt find a switch or button to reset it! and it has a red light that goes on too! anyone got any suggestions?
what esc, car do you have, what is it doing? Does it work, move?
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 11:25 PM
  #13
unknown25
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: shawigan lake, BC, CANADA
Posts: 54
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: HELP esc red light on , how to reset? test?

its a truck! its a sp-03018 ESC! I found the manual where it says the reset button is but i couldnt see it! right now the led is a red with no flashing just a straight red! i think if i found the reset button it may work! but i cant find it! do u know what it looks like?
unknown25 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 11:33 PM
  #14
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: HELP esc red light on , how to reset? test?

if it looks like this http://server.sohouniverse.net/~himo...p?id=1153&=SID its a small white rectangular button on the right side below the cooling fins.
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 11:46 PM
  #15
unknown25
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: shawigan lake, BC, CANADA
Posts: 54
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: HELP esc red light on , how to reset? test?

ok ya it looks exactly like that! but i still cant seem to see it!
unknown25 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 11:58 PM
  #16
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: HELP esc red light on , how to reset? test?

here you go, circled in red
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ki18153.jpg
Views:	458
Size:	8.6 KB
ID:	1117826  
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:32 PM.