RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

3T motor, anyone?

Reply
Old 02-08-2010, 02:00 PM
  #1
tecboy
Thread Starter
 
tecboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 176
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 3T motor, anyone?

Has anyone runs 3T motor on RC car?

Just wondering, because a lot of people think is too crazy and ridiculous.
tecboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 02:50 PM
  #2
c6z06
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kings Park, NY
Posts: 22
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 3T motor, anyone?

It would overheat, have crap brush/comm life and have a 3 minute runtime....
c6z06 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 03:12 PM
  #3
tecboy
Thread Starter
 
tecboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 176
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 3T motor, anyone?

Here are video I pick up. These are funny to watch.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IyC2TCQx09E

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VVdkK...om=PL&index=13
tecboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 04:46 PM
  #4
Access
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: , CA
Posts: 4,900
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 3T motor, anyone?

Prior to brushless being big the speed record ~102mph or so was held by a guy who ran a 1T brushed motor hand-rewound brushed motor or something like that.
Access is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 06:33 PM
  #5
Willystylz
 
Willystylz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Barrie, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,934
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 3T motor, anyone?

Are there not modified TC classes that run 3T brushless motors??
Willystylz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 07:01 PM
  #6
Access
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: , CA
Posts: 4,900
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 3T motor, anyone?

There is no 3T brushless motor, at least not the type that we use in our trucks. They always have half a turn, ie. 3.5T, 13.5T (super stock), 17.5T (stock), and so on.
Access is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 07:03 PM
  #7
Willystylz
 
Willystylz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Barrie, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,934
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 3T motor, anyone?

LRP makes them, or at least labels them 3.0T
Willystylz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 07:16 PM
  #8
tecboy
Thread Starter
 
tecboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 176
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 3T motor, anyone?

Some websites are selling 3T motors

http://h1073057.hobbyshopnow.com/ser...xcludeOptions=

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Access

There is no 3T brushless motor, at least not the type that we use in our trucks. They always have half a turn, ie. 3.5T, 13.5T (super stock), 17.5T (stock), and so on.
tecboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 07:20 PM
  #9
Willystylz
 
Willystylz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Barrie, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,934
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 3T motor, anyone?

Notice anything under 4T is rated at 4.8V to 6V. Running a 2S lipo or anything higher would likely kill the motor rather quick.
Willystylz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 08:21 PM
  #10
Access
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: , CA
Posts: 4,900
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 3T motor, anyone?

Quote:
ORIGINAL: tecboy
Some websites are selling 3T motors

http://h1073057.hobbyshopnow.com/ser...xcludeOptions=

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Access

There is no 3T brushless motor, at least not the type that we use in our trucks. They always have half a turn, ie. 3.5T, 13.5T (super stock), 17.5T (stock), and so on.
Looks like those must be new, it used to just go 3.5, 4.5, 5.5, 6.5, and so on.
Access is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 09:54 PM
  #11
MCSRacing
 
MCSRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: mechanicsburg, IL
Posts: 900
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 3T motor, anyone?

yea tekin has 2.0t motors ... but none of the cutrate motors are available in those turns


http://www.teamtekin.com/blmotors.html#redline
MCSRacing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:32 AM.