RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Car General Discussions (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-car-general-discussions-179/)
-   -   New to RC car (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-car-general-discussions-179/11660389-new-rc-car.html)

Mitchjenn07 02-06-2019 04:20 PM

New to RC car

I am very new to RC hobby. I bought a Traxxas rustler 4x4. I have been messing with gearing as a start. I went from a 11 T pi onion gear to a 13T and got a 4mph increase. I then put on an 18T pinion gear and it went down .3 mph. The road was a little wet but I’m not sure if it was that. Any opinions?

seedygreenute 02-06-2019 09:01 PM

What are you using to measure the speed ?
If you are spinning your wheels on a wet road you wont go as fast .
It also takes longer to get to top speed so you might have just run out of road .
11T to 18T seems like a pretty big jump , do you have a temp gun ?

Mitchjenn07 02-07-2019 03:30 AM

Thanks for ur reply

i am using an IOS app on phone under body. Made multiple passes seems pretty constant.

i have the Traxxas titan 12T motor. Would like to upgrade but not ready to spend 200 on the brushless motor just yet since I am still new.

I did did not hear or see it slipping but I imagine it could have been.

i have a temp gun but only ran 3 passes with the 18T pinion to try not to blow up motor.

Im just thinking that a motor can only hold a certain gearing. I would think that at some point going with a bigger pinion gear would show it down.

the spur gear is stock 54T

bill_delong 02-07-2019 05:48 PM

What gearing for upgraded electronics?

Decent combos can be found for as low as $40, this combo here can run up to 3S if you want to hit speeds in the 75mph+ range, keep in mind this motor has a 5mm shaft and will require different pinions:

GoolRC Waterproof 3660 3300KV Brushless Motor w/ 60A ESC Combo Set M5N7

seedygreenute 02-08-2019 01:49 AM