Community
Search
Notices
RC Car Radio Equipment Discuss specific topics related to RC car radios. For general or non rc car specific radio topics please see our regular radio discussion forum.

"Universal" Transmistter?

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2011, 10:03 AM
lshacke

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default "Universal" Transmistter?

I'm a true newbie. I'm thinking about getting a cheaperRTR Electric Truck, like maybe the Traxxas Ruslter XL-5. Is it possible to get a transmitter that can control any car you get? Maybe if you buy a replacement receiver for each car you want to use it with? Maybe just direct me to a forum or informational site where I can get info to help me understand? Any replies are appreicated.

Old 03-25-2011, 03:13 PM
Lars from Norway

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE:

Yes, you can get whatever radio/receiver you want for your car(s), but it has to be a computer one so you can have one model memory for each car. You can however make it with a non-computer one, but then you have to adjust the radio and all its controls each time you are going to drive another car. I guess you don't want that!

The Rustler is a nice car, and it comes with a radio in the kit. But i see any radio that has written AM on it as an hazard, so i would have looked for the one with 2,4 ghz with the kit. But i guess this one is only included in the VXL-kit, and not the XL-5.
Old 03-25-2011, 03:37 PM
lshacke

Default RE: RE:

Thanks. I think the VXL kit is about $150 more, but maybe that's because of the 2.4 ghz transmitter? Would it be better for me to go ahead and spend the extra $$ for the kit with the 2.4 ghz transmitter, then I'd be able to use it with additional vehicles if I get them? Would it only work with Traxxas cars? Are there other benefits to the 2.4 ghz transmitter? Again, thanks for your reply and for any additional information anyone can provide.
Old 03-25-2011, 04:54 PM
Lars from Norway

Received 1 Like on 1 Post