RC Classic Cars & Trucks Have a classic that is at least 15 years or older? Discuss it here!

Lipo battery in Frog re-release?

Reply
Old 08-18-2012, 12:14 AM
  #1
edubble
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Rochester Hills, MI
Posts: 14
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Lipo battery in Frog re-release?

Can I use a 4000mah 2s 7.4V LiPo battery in a re-release Frog with the new stock ESC that comes with the kit? If not what is the best battery to use with that ESC? I just picked up a new in box Frog off Craigslist for $115. Can't wait to build it. I already have 2 of those Lipo packs. I still have't gotten the ESC and radio in my Super Clod I just built. Better get building, lol. Thanks guys.
edubble is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 10:22 PM
  #2
chasehq
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/A, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 54
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Lipo battery in Frog re-release?

You can use the Lipo's and the stock ESC if you buy a LVC (Low Voltage Cutoff) like the one form Novak or a Lipo Alarm which can be bought from Hobbyking and the likes.

Most Lipo's you will have to put washers inbetween the chassis and the battery tray caps (part's A1 and A2) to extend the battery tray long enough to fit the approx 3mm longer Lipo packs.

Have fun!

:edit: Dont forget ball bearings in both!
chasehq is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 08:22 PM
  #3
edubble
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Rochester Hills, MI
Posts: 14
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Lipo battery in Frog re-release?

Do I need a LVC in my Clod with a EVX2 speed control and the same battery? I see a few Lipo alarms from HobbyKing, can you recommend one? Thanks
edubble is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 09:03 PM
  #4
chasehq
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/A, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 54
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Lipo battery in Frog re-release?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: edubble

Do I need a LVC in my Clod with a EVX2 speed control and the same battery? I see a few Lipo alarms from HobbyKing, can you recommend one? Thanks

Yes as the EVX2 doesn't have a lipo cutoff according to the traxxas site.


It depends which battery you are using, if you are using 2x 2s lipos, and the balance leads can both reach, getthis:
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=18987

otherwise get three of these, one for you frog, and one each for the two pack's in the Clod:
It doesn't matter, as long as each pack has an appropriate alarm for the cell count:
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=22749

You will have to wait until they are both back in stock though.

chasehq is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 10:35 PM
  #5
edubble
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Rochester Hills, MI
Posts: 14
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Lipo battery in Frog re-release?

Thanks for the info. I ran a jumper on the evx2 so I'm only running one battery, 2s. I'll pick up 2, 1 for the clod and 1 for the Frog. Thank you
edubble is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 11:25 AM
  #6
chasehq
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/A, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 54
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Lipo battery in Frog re-release?

Oh ok, yeah just the single ones will be fine then.
chasehq is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:04 AM.