Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 6 of 6

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Posts
    14
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Lipo battery in Frog re-release?

    Can I use a 4000mah 2s 7.4V LiPo battery in a re-release Frog with the new stock ESC that comes with the kit? If not what is the best battery to use with that ESC? I just picked up a new in box Frog off Craigslist for $115. Can't wait to build it. I already have 2 of those Lipo packs. I still have't gotten the ESC and radio in my Super Clod I just built. Better get building, lol. Thanks guys.

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    N/A, NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    54

    RE: Lipo battery in Frog re-release?

    You can use the Lipo's and the stock ESC if you buy a LVC (Low Voltage Cutoff) like the one form Novak or a Lipo Alarm which can be bought from Hobbyking and the likes.

    Most Lipo's you will have to put washers inbetween the chassis and the battery tray caps (part's A1 and A2) to extend the battery tray long enough to fit the approx 3mm longer Lipo packs.

    Have fun!

    :edit: Dont forget ball bearings in both!
    Nearly 30 RC\'\'s from vintage to modern, electric to petrol.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Posts
    14
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Lipo battery in Frog re-release?

    Do I need a LVC in my Clod with a EVX2 speed control and the same battery? I see a few Lipo alarms from HobbyKing, can you recommend one? Thanks

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    N/A, NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    54

    RE: Lipo battery in Frog re-release?


    ORIGINAL: edubble

    Do I need a LVC in my Clod with a EVX2 speed control and the same battery? I see a few Lipo alarms from HobbyKing, can you recommend one? Thanks

    Yes as the EVX2 doesn't have a lipo cutoff according to the traxxas site.


    It depends which battery you are using, if you are using 2x 2s lipos, and the balance leads can both reach, getthis:
    http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=18987

    otherwise get three of these, one for you frog, and one each for the two pack's in the Clod:
    It doesn't matter, as long as each pack has an appropriate alarm for the cell count:
    http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=22749

    You will have to wait until they are both back in stock though.

    Nearly 30 RC\'\'s from vintage to modern, electric to petrol.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Posts
    14
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Lipo battery in Frog re-release?

    Thanks for the info. I ran a jumper on the evx2 so I'm only running one battery, 2s. I'll pick up 2, 1 for the clod and 1 for the Frog. Thank you

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    N/A, NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    54

    RE: Lipo battery in Frog re-release?

    Oh ok, yeah just the single ones will be fine then.
    Nearly 30 RC\'\'s from vintage to modern, electric to petrol.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:37 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.