RC Classic Cars & Trucks Have a classic that is at least 15 years or older? Discuss it here!

Tamiya QD Thunder Shot Twitching

Reply
Old 04-03-2013, 01:39 PM
  #1
cockroach
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: , SWITZERLAND
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Tamiya QD Thunder Shot Twitching

Hello there!

Irecently felt like dusting off my old RCcar, a Tamiya Quick Drive "Thunder Shot", and doing a few rounds with it. However, when Iturned it on I noticed that the motor and the steering servo move / twitch around at random.The twitching stops when Iturn on the sender but starts again as Imove it away from the car. Also, if my hands get close to the (now exposed)curcuit board things go crazy.

In order to eliminate some low hanging fruits Ireplaced the crystals (and removed the antenna)but that didn't help. I also checked all the cables and soldering points but didn't notice anything out of the ordinary. Since Idon't have any spare parts / other cars I'm pretty much out of ideas now and was wondering whether anyone had any advice on what else I could try.

Ah also, it's not a problem with the batteries, the car is currently hooked up to a proper power supply that delivers a steady 9.6V. And just as a warning, while Ido have a soldering iron and a multi meter, my expertise at messing around with electronics is rather limited so please use small words

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
cockroach is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 02:05 PM
  #2
redfisher1974
 
redfisher1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: PalmerstonOntario, CANADA
Posts: 9,180
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tamiya QD Thunder Shot Twitching

Sounds like an old AM radio with lots of interference.
redfisher1974 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 02:09 PM
  #3
cockroach
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: , SWITZERLAND
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tamiya QD Thunder Shot Twitching

Indeed it's using the 27 MHz AMband. I wasn't aware that there was a lot of interference there but I suppose that might make sense. If I wanted to use a different band, would Ihave to replace the whole circuit board?
cockroach is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 08:46 AM
  #4
Big Alice
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Posts: 316
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Tamiya QD Thunder Shot Twitching


   you can't swich bands with your radio.  If it's a 27mhz, it's gonna stay 27mhz .   your best bet is to get something like this and put it in the car. 
           http://www.hobbypartz.com/79p-gt3b-carradio-lcd.html
Big Alice is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:18 AM.