RC Classic Cars & Trucks Have a classic that is at least 15 years or older? Discuss it here!

A heck of a project on my hands

Old 08-11-2010, 04:56 PM
TheSaum

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default A heck of a project on my hands

Greetings all!I'm a newbie to the site and, really, to the hobby. My dad recently cleaned out his garage and came across 4 Tamiya trucks that he built for my brother and I back in 1989 (yep, these are 20+ years old!) The trucks are, Monster Beetle, Black Foot, Clod Buster, and Lunchbox. The condition of these trucks range from pretty good (Clod Buster) to ok (Monster Beetle) to down right scary (Lunchbox). I am very interested in getting at least 3 of these trucks up and running again, but I'm kinda at a loss as to where to start. I've never restored trucks like this, although after looking at them they look fairly simple. My dad assembled them, but they look straightforward enough that I should be able to disassemble them, clean them up, and reassemble them. However, I feel like I need some pointers from people who have done this before. Because it was "my" truck, the first one I'm going to tackle is the Monster Beetle. With that in mind, Ihave questions:

1. Once I take the MB apart, how do I go about cleaning the parts?I'm assuming the plastics can be cleaned with mild detergent (dishsoap) but what about the metallic parts?Surely I don't want to get those wet! What about parts, such as the shocks, which show rust/corrosion. Are they a loss?Would I be better off replacing them?