Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Combat
Reload this Page >

"slasher" versus spad

Community
Search
Notices
RC Combat Discuss rc combat planes, techniques and strategies here.

"slasher" versus spad

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2005, 05:56 AM
aimmaintenance

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default "slasher" versus spad

I've been thinkin about buying a "slasher". How does that style of plane fly? Are they touchy? Is there any hands off stabilty. Do they float in to land? I guess what I'm curios about is the comparison of a full blown combat ship versus an ultra stick or something. I'm an OK pilot, but just that,, OK. I don't wanna spend the money and end up hating the plane because every flight is nerve wracking experience. I realize nobody can tell me wether or not I'll like the plane but I'm just trying to get a feel for how they fly. I know they turn on a dime, and manuever like nothing else, but can you slow them down and fly them like a trainer? (so to speak) I was all set to buy one until a friend of mine got his 48" span spad down to 4.lb 2.5oz. The reason I never liked spads was due to the fact that I never could build one less than 6.lbs. Now that I see how to build a LIGHT spad I'm trying to decide which way to go. Spad versus Slasher. How are the wings on the Slasher type planes. The foamies I've been building fly great but durability wise leave alot to be desired. Thats why I'm thinking about going back to the spad idea. Those things are TOUGH!
Are the slasher type planes just as tough? As you can tell, I've never even seen one in real life.
Old 06-25-2005, 01:49 PM
combatpigg
My Feedback: (3)

Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts
Default RE: "slasher" versus spad