Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

Hosting a Combat event: How to get started?

I'm new to RC combat and am interested in hosting a combat event for our club. I've checked out the RCCA website at www.rccombat.com and read the AMA's rules on RC combat at http://www.modelaircraft.org/files/e...s/RCCombat.pdf already. I was hoping to get some good general advice on how best to put an event together and how to make it run smoothly so everyone has fun.

Does anybody here have some additional resources they can recommend, or any advice they'd care to offer based on their own experiences? Thanks in advance for the help!
    When everybody is out to get you, paranoia is just good thinking!

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

RE: Hosting a Combat event: How to get started?

Did you look at the CD Guide on the RCCA site? Lot's of good info in it. Look at the RCCA forum topics - "Upcoming Events" and "Debrief" for first hand accounts of what was planned and how it went down.

Make sure you participate in your club's other events, not only flying but volunteering to help out. The members you helped out will be more willing to help you with your event if you were helping them with theirs.

r
    Randy Hodges
    RCCA 745

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

I was the CD of the Combat events when we held them at our club. If you already have a CD, and you have read the RCCA rules for the different categories, then just pick which categories you will allow at your event and go for it.