Community
Search
Notices
RC Drifting Discuss all aspects of rc drifting here!

What's a one-way diff...

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2004, 03:43 AM
BastardAle

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What's a one-way diff...

Like the subject said, what's a one-way differential and what does it do? I've been hearing they make drifting way easier, is there truth to that? Can I get one for a HPI Sport 2?
Old 08-25-2004, 05:03 AM
creyc

Default RE: What's a one-way diff...

Though I'm new to drifting and don't quite know how this fits in to making drifts easier, I would guess a "one way diff" is a locked out differential? In the monster truck world and with rock crawling you can put a spool in your diff in place of the spiders to lock the output shafts together to the diff, giving you 100% power to each wheel. This way when one wheel starts spinning during your drift, the other wheel will stay the same speed. Usually this is considered to make the car handle worse and more difficult to turn but the inverse may be true with drifting cars.

Now, anyone care to explain everything I missed in above paragraph?
Old 08-25-2004, 10:06 AM
Scott S

The above post describes the use of a locked differential, which does exactly as you described. However, a one-way differential is a differential for the front of the car which allows the front wheels to free-wheel under de-acceleration or braking conditions. This makes the car act like a 4wd car under acceleration, but a 2wd car when you let off the throttle or hit the brake. It's a lot easier to get the car to break traction or control the slide with a one-way. Hope that helped!

By the way, this is my first post on rcuniverse and hopefully not the last! [8D]
Old 08-25-2004, 12:13 PM
BastardAle

So does anyone know if there are any aftermarket one-ways for the HPI Sport 2? I've looked and cant seem to find any. HPI's site doesn't even have them.

Thanks for the explanation Scott S. That sounds like a must have?