Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Li-Po - Motor - ESC upgrades

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2010, 08:11 AM
xDIRTYSOUTHx

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Li-Po - Motor - ESC upgrades

So, I'm very new to electric RC's and need some info on upgrading. I just bought an MT10 and at some point would like to upgrade the motor, battery, and ESC. The only problem is i'm not sure what to start with or what to look for. I've been trying to get as much info on Li-Po's and brushless motors but I don't feel ready to start buying parts yet.

What should i look for in a brushless motor? (size, KV, volts, ect.)

What should i look for in an ESC? (amps, sensor?, ect.)

What should i look for in a new Li-Po? (volts, cells, charger, ect.)

I don't care to have the fastest, best, most expensive parts. I will most likely be buying from Ebay "china/hong kong". I'm just trying to get some knowlege so i will be able to search for specific parts instead of just searching "ESC" or Li-Po". Any info will be helpful and if you have links that would be great.
Old 10-09-2010, 10:47 AM
genitor

Default RE: Li-Po - Motor - ESC upgrades

First of all you will need to upgrade the mt10 diffs to the metal diffs.

Brushless motor 3000-4000 kv 540 sized motor (36mm dia. 50cm long)

Esc around 60 Amps. Doesn't need to be sensored.

Lipo 2s or 3s around 5000 mah 20C or greater.

For charger, the imax b6, thunder t6 or ac6, turnigy accucel 6 are all good and basically the same but just in different cases.

Get your lipos, charger, esc and motor from either hobbycity.com or hobbypartz.com or also ebay.

Old 10-09-2010, 10:54 AM
SyCo_VeNoM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts