Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 7 of 7

  1. #1
    momogt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    appomattox, VA
    Posts
    437
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    cc sidewinder esc on 4s

    would a cc sidewinder esc handle a 4s lipo pack with a motor thats 2950kv=43660 rpm right now i have one in my slash with a 3s lipo and a 4420kv motor=49062 rpm geared @ 16/90
    traxxas slash 2wd, tacon 2150kv 3s mod 1 gears 20/36
    e maxx leopard 4092 1480kv 6s

  2. #2
    ThunderbirdJunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Norwood, OH
    Posts
    22,101
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: cc sidewinder esc on 4s

    Motor will handle it, ESC cannot take 4S input voltage.
    \"Some people can mess up an anvil with a rubber hammer\" -46u
    If you don\'\'t allow yourself to fail, you\'\'ll never allow yourself to succeed-ThunderbirdJunkie

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    by the lake, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    2,447
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: cc sidewinder esc on 4s

    i run 4s lipo on my MM with a castle bec, seems to run pretty good.
    6S E-maxx - 4S slash - 2S TT-01E

  4. #4
    Dale Gribble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Temecula, CA
    Posts
    5,692
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: cc sidewinder esc on 4s


    ORIGINAL: ThunderbirdJunkie

    Motor will handle it, ESC cannot take 4S input voltage.
    Agreed. #1, Castle doesn't even rate the Sidewinder to 4S usage with any motor, #2 Castle rates the Sidewinder to 3S with UP TO a 4600kV motor.

    Get the Mamba Max if you want to run 4S.
    *** Support your local tracks ***

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    , TX
    Posts
    1,239
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: cc sidewinder esc on 4s

    i remember before we got many higher voltage esc's on the market that the did handle i think even upto 5 cells, but it was hit or miss and you had to use a bec for your radio gear. its up to you to chance it, but i wouldn't expect castle to replace it for you if it doesn't work out. i used to run a hot bodies 10th scale truggy off one on 4s2p of a123's on a fiegao 8L motor and it was a thing of beauty, although i little less voltage.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Atlanta/Houston, GA
    Posts
    360
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: cc sidewinder esc on 4s

    "Specifications" can be located on the manufacturer's website.
    Either way, that kind of power increase in a Slash of all things doesn't seem like a wise choice.

  7. #7
    Cleared2Engage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Oxnard, CA
    Posts
    602
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: cc sidewinder esc on 4s

    Specifications are also noted on the ESC itself
    When it absolutely, positively has to be destroyed overnight...
    USMC 0861 Fire Support Man (Artillery/Naval Guns/CAS)


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:45 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.