RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

I found the amp ratings for the Mamba Max Pro...

Reply
Old 10-04-2011, 11:41 AM
  #1
Foxy
Moderator
Thread Starter
 
Foxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Kingston UK, but living in Athens, GREECE
Posts: 18,082
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default I found the amp ratings for the Mamba Max Pro...

and apart from the voltage handling (24v, which is surprising to be fair) it's a 65A esc rated for 120A burst. Not very spectacular.

Now, if I had come out and said that I'm planning on using a 60A ESC for my SC which will be run on 3s with a castle 1410, you would all have said "that ain't gonna cut it dude". But if I'd said I was planning on an MMP, you'd have been ok with that. So, along comes the experiment. I will be using an Ansmann Xirius Race (a rebadged but good quality Chinese 60A ESC rated for 300A burst) to power my Jammin SCRT-10 on 3s with the stock 13t pinion. I'm betting it's gonna handle it fine. If it does, maybe we need to lower our expectations of what kind of Amperage is actually needed to run some of these motors, and I can't help wondering if these expectations have been pushed up by high motor ratings, which happen to be provided by the same companies that make the ESCs. Lest we forget, my Savage Flux runs happily on an MMP at 4S with a 2350 motor, and that's a very heavy truck compared to the SCRT10.

Does the tinfoil hat suit me?

PS. Not posting source, worried it might be taken down if posted, but suffice it to say, this is from the horse's mouth (Castle themselves).
Foxy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 11:48 AM
  #2
sheograth
Moderator
 
sheograth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 11,829
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I found the amp ratings for the Mamba Max Pro...

You need another coil by your left ear, you're not picking up the whole story.

:P
sheograth is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 11:49 AM
  #3
Foxy
Moderator
Thread Starter
 
Foxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Kingston UK, but living in Athens, GREECE
Posts: 18,082
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I found the amp ratings for the Mamba Max Pro...

Bet you thought it was an 80A at the least, I know I did. :P
Foxy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 12:21 PM
  #4
sheograth
Moderator
 
sheograth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 11,829
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I found the amp ratings for the Mamba Max Pro...

I was expecting a bit more but I'm not surprised. People get their panties all twisted over current and voltage specs, but theres no standard for measuring those things and manufacturers can fudge data however they want. The true measur of a devices quality is how consistent, stable, and reliable it will be at a wide range of current draws. But as far as marketing goes it's easier to slap a big "4 Bajillioin Amps" on the side of it.
sheograth is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 12:55 PM
  #5
namewasdallas
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Malta, NY
Posts: 215
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I found the amp ratings for the Mamba Max Pro...

I thought it would of been more seeing as you can run 6s on the MMP and some 1/8th scale motors. Mine works flawless on 2s and 3s all day long. Thanks for the info
namewasdallas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 02:38 PM
  #6
kaycerc
 
kaycerc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Wyo, WY
Posts: 425
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I found the amp ratings for the Mamba Max Pro...

After years of maxamps complaining about other manufacturer's inaccurate or exaggerated claims, I found it ironic and hypocritical that they jumped into the numbers-pimping game and trying to blow everyone else away in doing so. Lies, lies, lies..............
kaycerc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 03:51 PM
  #7
ThunderbirdJunkie
 
ThunderbirdJunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwood, OH
Posts: 22,101
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I found the amp ratings for the Mamba Max Pro...

The MMP sucks anyway. The thing about the 1410 that kills speed controls is not the amperage, but how fast it cycles. Remember that the speedo thinks it's a 7600kv motor, and on 3S, it's cycling a LOT.

The 1410's power is more than adequate on 2S.
ThunderbirdJunkie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 04:17 PM
  #8
momogt
 
momogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: appomattox, VA
Posts: 438
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I found the amp ratings for the Mamba Max Pro...



mine run fine on 2-4s but on 5s and 6s it has a brief pause on start up then it kicks in

momogt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 06:01 PM
  #9
fb5b
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: , AUSTRALIA
Posts: 92
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I found the amp ratings for the Mamba Max Pro...

Castle Creations = Max Amps
fb5b is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 07:07 PM
  #10
gelbschnee
 
gelbschnee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Gretna, NE
Posts: 573
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I found the amp ratings for the Mamba Max Pro...

I would bet that most empirical tests on motor and battery amperage would not even come close to what the manufacturers specs are
gelbschnee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 08:53 PM
  #11
sheograth
Moderator
 
sheograth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 11,829
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I found the amp ratings for the Mamba Max Pro...

You're probably right.
sheograth is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 04:43 PM
  #12
Popeye420
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: , BELGIUM
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I found the amp ratings for the Mamba Max Pro...


Hi, I'm new to the forum...actually, I registered solly to reply to this post

I am running the Mamba Max Pro in my Bullet flux, on 4S, geared to run 104kp/h...that's roughly 64mph.

I am still using the original, way too big for a 1/10 scale, MT tires.

Bashed it good on a parkinglot, wheelying like crazy, doing top speed runs, in short, asking the most of my setup I could...just to c how it would cope. Oh yeah, forgot to name the motor. A Leopard 3650 3650kv 15v max 1300watt max.

When the batts died... engine was hot, but not extremely.... The MMP felt warm... not hot... Fan even stopt spinning after a few minutes of cooldown.

What is so strange about this... is that I was previously running a very solid GM Genius 90A on 3s And that was overheating with the least of bashing I tried.

My Question? How can a 60A 120A burst system trump a competition designed 90A esc in a high traction parking bash?

Are you sure your info is correct?? I'm not saying it isn't.... but I'm just worried and curious @ the same time...

Castle themselves say you can run the Neumotor 1515 on the MMP if you restrain yourself to 1/10scale.... Thats a 2000watt powerhouse.... on a 60A system??

Damn, I thought I almost had Electrics figuered out.... but you just ratled my cage good sir

ps: Sorry for the dodgy english... I'm from Belgium...

Greetings
Popeye420 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 04:47 PM
  #13
rclugnut10
 
rclugnut10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Hinsburg , VT
Posts: 5,877
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I found the amp ratings for the Mamba Max Pro...

i think this post hi-lights the lack of consistancy in mfg rating....

the lug
rclugnut10 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 09:41 PM
  #14
phmaximus
 
phmaximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Adelaide, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 6,636
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I found the amp ratings for the Mamba Max Pro...

Post removed by me, all the info about Brushless maths I posted can be found with google

NO MORE DEBATING FROM ME
phmaximus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 10:12 PM
  #15
SyCo_VeNoM
 
SyCo_VeNoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 12,770
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I found the amp ratings for the Mamba Max Pro...

damn you!!!
Why did you have to type in the way stuff is calculated I was having fun watching this
I'll be honest outside basic KV to RPM conversions or the generic way of finding max rated current draw for a battery I stopped trying to use basic engineering formulas on the forums, or explain the theories (most people don't listen anyways, and will instead listen to a PR drone from a company) of how this stuff works
SyCo_VeNoM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 01:38 AM
  #16
Foxy
Moderator
Thread Starter
 
Foxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Kingston UK, but living in Athens, GREECE
Posts: 18,082
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I found the amp ratings for the Mamba Max Pro...

Indeed. As posted above and in response to the first time poster who wondered if i was sure about the figures (i am ), as with many electronics, real world performance is impacted in a far more meaningful way by the quality of the components themselves. Current ratings are very subjective.
Foxy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 03:15 PM
  #17
Popeye420
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: , BELGIUM
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I found the amp ratings for the Mamba Max Pro...



So it would seem, thank you for clarifying this for me....that also explains why a mamba monster set can outperforum other 150A sets.... sincs it would only be rated @ 120A.

So the rule of thumb in electric rc is....ratings means ****.... experience everything
Popeye420 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 04:03 PM
  #18
SyCo_VeNoM
 
SyCo_VeNoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 12,770
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I found the amp ratings for the Mamba Max Pro...


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Popeye420



So it would seem, thank you for clarifying this for me.... that also explains why a mamba monster set can outperforum other 150A sets.... sincs it would only be rated @ 120A.

So the rule of thumb in electric rc is.... ratings means ****.... experience everything
dunno where it out preforms anything or how that explains that.

I ripped my MM out of my savage, and replaced it with a HW 150A setup that IMO blows it away. The MM was getting very hot after 15 mins.
Outside the fine tuning via a PC which I personally find unnecessary I can't see how it would outperform anything else.
SyCo_VeNoM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 01:05 AM
  #19
phmaximus
 
phmaximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Adelaide, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 6,636
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I found the amp ratings for the Mamba Max Pro...

Post removed by me, all the info about Brushless maths I posted can be found with google

NO MORE DEBATING FROM ME
phmaximus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 04:39 AM
  #20
rclugnut10
 
rclugnut10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Hinsburg , VT
Posts: 5,877
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I found the amp ratings for the Mamba Max Pro...

a MM probally won't beat that 150a HW as far as power a MMM probally will tho... seeing as the MM is a discontinued 1/10 esc and the MMM is a 1/8esc

the lug
rclugnut10 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 05:23 AM
  #21
savagecommander
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: sterling heights, MI
Posts: 1,857
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I found the amp ratings for the Mamba Max Pro...

suddenly the almighty castle isnt what its cracked up to be. not surprised. it takes a lot to get a motor to run 65 amps constantly. more than you'd think. the speed control is taxed the most at startup- there is a huge spike and then a sharp dropoff, so in theory the controller only has to survive that initial burst to give the consumer that feeling like is has "punch"...

and there is a very accurate way to measure the current cabability of the speed controls. each fet has ratings. those ratings would list its maximum current ability @ a given temperature. the only variable is how well the esc can cool itself.
savagecommander is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 08:58 AM
  #22
SyCo_VeNoM
 
SyCo_VeNoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 12,770
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I found the amp ratings for the Mamba Max Pro...

Quote:
ORIGINAL: rclugnut10

a MM probally won't beat that 150a HW as far as power a MMM probally will tho... seeing as the MM is a discontinued 1/10 esc and the MMM is a 1/8esc

the lug
think he meant the mamba monster (which is rated @120A's) not the mamba max

Still after owning the 1/8th MM, and the 150A HW, and having both in the same rig. IMO the 150A HW is better value for the cash, and doesn't get anywhere near as hot.
Also never heard of anyone's HW ESC's exploding due to ripple currents
SyCo_VeNoM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 11:48 PM
  #23
phmaximus
 
phmaximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Adelaide, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 6,636
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I found the amp ratings for the Mamba Max Pro...

Post removed by me, all the info about Brushless maths I posted can be found with google

NO MORE DEBATING FROM ME
phmaximus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2011, 11:06 AM
  #24
savagecommander
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: sterling heights, MI
Posts: 1,857
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I found the amp ratings for the Mamba Max Pro...


Quote:
ORIGINAL: phmaximus

hey has any one ever fitted the capasiters/punch from a HW 60a to a 35a esc???
the caps only smooth power to and from the motor. they absorb any inductive loads and spikes.
savagecommander is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 12:00 AM
  #25
phmaximus
 
phmaximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Adelaide, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 6,636
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: I found the amp ratings for the Mamba Max Pro...

Post removed by me, all the info about Brushless maths I posted can be found with google

NO MORE DEBATING FROM ME
phmaximus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:13 AM.