Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Lipo Questions, help please!!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2011, 10:44 AM
Sunfirefoot
My Feedback: (30)

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Lipo Questions, help please!!!!!

So I've been doing this hobby for about 11 years and have always used Nimh and Nicd packs, I have always been curious about Lipo but never tried them because of the horror stories and videos on YouTube. I have some question that some of you awesome guys can answer. First, how is the charging process different? Second, what does #-S mean as well as the #-C? What does it mean to "balance"? And lastly, what are good but moderately priced lipo's and chargers?

Thanks in advance for the help, and please don't bash me for posting this here, I tried 3 months ago in the "Batteries and Chargers" section and got torn apart by pilots lol.
Old 11-22-2011, 10:49 AM
Sunfirefoot

Default RE: Lipo Questions, help please!!!!!

Forgot one thing, what do I need to do to prevent explosions and flash fire lol that's the important question
Old 11-22-2011, 11:09 AM
thehuntingterminator

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

lol, thats a long post with lots of questions but i'll do my best to answer all of them. first off, i wanna say that i too was terrified to buy a lipo pack, for fear of burning down my house. but, after actually using them myself, they are not scary at all with todays smart chargers.
1. the charging process is a little more complicated (just a few more steps to do it properly and safely) than NIMH or NICD, but nothing that you can't handle.
2. #s means the number of cells in the pack in series. meaning if its a 2s pack, its a 2 cell lipo (7.4v). however, it can be a 2s2p pack, meaning its still 7.4v, but has an adittional 2 cells in parallel to reach the mah rating given to the pack.