Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Duratrax Brushless Evader

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2011, 08:44 PM
wildrupp

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Duratrax Brushless Evader

Today i bought the new brushless evader 1/10 scale truck. Love the thing, just wondering a few things.

1) i want to get a good baterry/ charger. The LHS gave me a free battery and its the onyx 1500 from duratrax. Its cool but doesnt last long. Im looking for something with some battery life but not gunna break the bank and i need a good charger to go with it. What would yall recomend? LiPo is what i am leaning towards.

2) What should some upgrades be to it?

3) Anything i need to know with electric cars? I had a couple of nitro trucks back a few years ago, but sold those and started electric.

I have some experience and want to get this thing going fast.

Links are always nice, and thanks guys
Old 12-27-2011, 09:26 PM
dragnse7en
Banned

Default RE: Duratrax Brushless Evader

Going with lipos can be expensive, and if you don't have the right charger, things can get expensive quick.

You will need an esc that is lipo-friendly for starters. Browse around for escs that can handle the type of lipo battery that you want.

Second, you'll need a charger that can balance and properly charge the battery.

In the end, buying those 3 things could possibly be more expensive than your entire Evader kit.

I could post links, but I'll leave that up to others to do that; it's all a matter of preference for brand names.

One thing important though - I would recommend not buying a hobbywing esc. They are super cheap, but seem to be unreliable from what I have read over and over again here.

Good luck!
Old 12-28-2011, 07:10 AM
wildrupp

Alright, now how do i test the compatability?
Old 12-28-2011, 07:44 AM
dragnse7en
Banned