Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Tamiya Baja Champ Cutting Out - Ideas?

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2013, 10:59 AM
rwassell

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tamiya Baja Champ Cutting Out - Ideas?

Hi,

I have just bought a second-hand Baja Champ off Ebay.

Overall condition is reasonably good and it came with everything, including acoms radio gear, speed controller, battery etc.

However, I am having a problem and I am not experienced enough to know what's wrong, my worry is it might be faulty.

I turn on the radio.

I then turn on the car.

The first thing I notice is that wheels are skewiff. I use the offset on the radio control to try to straighten them but they're not quite straight still. I should be able to sort that by taking the steering apart and reseating the cog on the cam to make sure its aligned properly so hopefully no problem there.

The main problem though is when accelerating. The car will start moving forward and then cut out. I tried this without the top removed and you can see the led light up on the speed controller as I accelerate but then it goes off as it cuts out. I unplugged the battery and tried again, no change. If I move the accelerate controller very gently forward it will start to move and inch forward but when I push it just that little bit further, again, it will cut out. So even with the controller at full throttle, nothing is happening. The same thing happens in reverse.

If anyone might have an idea as to what might be wrong that would be really helpful, thank you.

Regards,

Rob
Old 05-21-2013, 11:06 AM
Eman77

Default RE: Tamiya Baja Champ Cutting Out - Ideas?

A few thoughts:

1) Is your battery charged?
2) Did you try reprogramming the ESC, following whatever steps the manual suggests to set fwd/reverse/neutral?