Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

newb really needing help

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2013, 06:23 PM
swiss82

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default newb really needing help

I am a complete newb as I have not run rc in 20 years. I have the urge to get back into it. A local seller is selling some of his gear.
Im not thinking I will really ever go race at an official track. Ill probably run in the neighborhood on grass, gravel driveway, empty sand lot...want to jump stuff and want it to be durable
Seller is selling a traxxas slash 4x4 with upgrades
traxxas stampede w upgrades
Team associated rc18r w upgrades
Loci 1/18 monster truck. which is stock
I do not know the prices yet. But one of my main questions: which style do I want for the kind of driving I described? I know the slash is more of a buggy style, how will that do on soft dirt? Ive seen vids of it on hard dirt and it is awesome?
Or do I want something more truck style like the stampede?
And I really, really dont know anything about the other 2 mentioned...
Any help is appreciated
Old 07-21-2013, 06:31 PM
collector1231
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: newb really needing help

The slash is a short course platform; not like a buggy. For the soft dirt a 4wd rc would work better, so i'd go for it.
Old 07-22-2013, 07:04 AM
swiss82

when you say the slash is a short course platform, are you saying it would be good for loose dirt and some grass and to bash around a little? What is the difference between that and a buggy?
Thanks!
Old 07-22-2013, 07:16 AM
swiss82

also, would the stampede not be good for that?
Old 07-22-2013, 09:17 AM
collector1231

A short course truck (Slash 4x4);
Buggy (Team Associated B4.1)