Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

How to clean recat racing volcano after dirty run.

Hello all,
    I'm a newbie to rc and have a newbie question. How do you properly clean a redcat racing volcano after a run in the dust? Thanks for any hellp!

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    If all you've got is dust, pffft! Taint nuthin'. A can of compressed air to blow it off. Blow out the wheels, motor area, and ESC, and the steering linkages. Done.

Now, if you've had several such days on the car and haven't done a thorough cleaning, then you may want to dive in a little deeper. Like taking all the bearings out and checking each one for free-spinning and smoothness. If you find one or more that feel gritty or stiff, carefully remove the dust shields and clean out the bearing with motor spray. This should restore the free-spinning, but may feel a little dry, so add some bearing lube and put the shields back on. They should feel like new, or better. If not, replace it.

Ah, I see the Volcano is a Nitro truck. I'll leave Nitro After-run Service to those who know. I'm an electric guy.
    Just a schmoe....

actually, mine is the electric brushed one...

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Cool! Then clean up is a snap, as I described. Just don't let anything get "crusty".
    In addition to the minor maintenance I mentioned above, the other things to check on every so often are the tranny, diff, and motor.