Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Duratrax Evader and Li-ion?

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2014, 01:05 PM
Kamilkaze13

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Duratrax Evader and Li-ion?

Hey everyone,

I'm new to this hobby and I got a Duratrax Evader the other day. I have a a pair of Li-ion battery's from a heli and I was wondering if I could use them on the Evader. The battery's are 1500 mAh, 2 cell , 7.4 volt Li-ion. I have the Evader Ext 2.4 and I think the ESC can hold up to 2s lipo, correct me if I'm wrong. Would it be okay to use the Li-ion battery's of the Heli on the car? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Old 09-29-2014, 01:15 PM
collector1231
My Feedback: (1)

Lithium Ion or Lithium Polymer? If its LiPO, then yes, it will work, but only will give you a little bit of runtime. If it is Lithium Ion, then no. If you are in the market for a new set of LiPOs, I recommend these from Venom.

http://www.atomikrc.com/collections/...universal-plug
Old 09-29-2014, 03:44 PM
Kamilkaze13

Thanks a lot. It is Lithium ion so i guess ill have to buy Li-Po. I have already have the Venom batteries and they are great, not the Li-Po's but the NI-Mh.
Old 10-01-2014, 09:09 AM
EXT2Rob

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Hi Kamakazi! I have two Evaders that I converted to brushless. How old are those Li-ion packs? 1500mah is, like, practically useless. Even if you could use them, they'd give you maybe five minutes. Go buy a couple 5000mah packs, you'll be much happier. You shouldn't have to pay more than $45 ea. You WILL need a Lipo charger, I highly reccommend this one: Thunder AC680 Professional Dual-Power LiPo Balance Charger Discharger w AC Adapter for 1-6 Lipo 1-15 Nimh + USB to PC Software It's only about $50.