Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

slipper clutch proper adjustment help?

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2016, 01:19 PM
alex1992ccc

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question slipper clutch proper adjustment help?

i have an arrma vortex mega (cheap one) 2wd. i want to know how tight i should tighten the slipper clutch... ive watched a few youtube videos and such.. but the methods they use dont seem to work for me.. (probly because i have a weak failing motor and bald tires) my car doesnt have enough power to pop a wheelie any more.. so i cant really use that method to test my slipper :/ i try just holding onto my spur gear and turning my wheels by hand.. but i cant tell if its too tight by doing it.. i have no hands-on frame of reference, im new to this.. plus my better judgement tells me im damaging something... ANYWAY heres my question. i want my slipper as tight as it can be WITHOUT hurting my transmission... how tight would that be? and what is a good method to test how tight it is?? (with bald tires that wont grip carpet, and a weak motor) ? by the way im new here and look foward to meeting you guys...thanks.. alex :]
Old 01-24-2016, 01:48 PM
flyinwalenda
My Feedback: (5)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Tighten the slipper adjustment nut fully (clockwise) but don't over-tighten. Back it off (counter-clockwise) 5 complete turns. This is the default setting.
If you have bald tires you want the clutch to slip so it gradually puts power to the bald tires otherwise you will sit and spin. Get some new tires and set the clutch so you can hear the slip for about 1-2 feet as the vehicle moves after you plant the throttle. If you tighten it beyond that you will be replacing transmission parts in short order.
Old 01-24-2016, 02:46 PM
RustyUs

Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts