Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Purchase Suggestions - Completely New RC Driver

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2016, 12:31 PM
Osworth

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Purchase Suggestions - Completely New RC Driver

I am brand new to the RC world and I am looking for suggestions on what to purchase for my first vehicle. I am expecting to share this hobby with my now 3 and a half year old son and have him grow into it and learn as I do. I expect with what is available around me and his current interest in dirt and trucks that an off-road vehicle will be the best fit. I need it to be able to handle grass and dirt but would love to put together some rocks in my backyard.

I am looking to spend around $400, or ya know less, for the vehicle (I understand the battery/charger can make this a bit more) and have that get me by for awhile as we both test the waters. In my research it seems like crawlers would be the best fit but I am open to any suggestions. I wouldn't mind a RTR, kit, or some upgrades to a RTR as long as it stays around that price and also wouldn't have me breaking things before I start.

Feel free to be as detailed as you want about what I will need to start off with, as I am really not sure about anything yet. I appreciate the help.
Old 02-12-2016, 09:22 PM
collector1231
My Feedback: (1)

It is pretty hard to find an RC car that works well on rocks as well as dirt/grass. You sound like you want a dirt/grass car, so some sort of monster truck would be well suited. I chose a brushed Stampede, as it is a slower car that would be best to learn on.

Truck; http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...FYQ2gQodFxQP2w
Battery; http://www.atomikrc.com/collections/...-with-uni-plug
Charger; http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s..._Charger_.html
Old 02-13-2016, 05:40 AM
RustyUs