Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Slash 2wd what rear springs should i use?

Old 04-05-2016, 07:28 PM
Ponddust

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Slash 2wd what rear springs should i use?

I'm new to RCing and my brother through together a slash 2wd for me about a year ago. It has lots of aftermarket parts such as an aluminum bulkhead and gearbox. right now my shocks are Integy MSR9 piggybacks with unknown blue springs however they they don't hold up my rear end. I have full preload and a big nut for a spacer just to get my rear to fully return.(they are proper length)

My first big question is what springs should i run for bashing in my backyard with a aluminum gearbox?
Second, I'm not sure if my shocks are holding oil so do i buy new seals and a shaft or get traxxas big bores?
Third, are aluminum a-arms and shock towers worth it in the long run?
Finally and less important, I have a baja bug thing going on, are the proline skid plates with builtin bumper mounts any good?
Old 04-06-2016, 06:46 AM
EXT2Rob
My Feedback: (1)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Yeah, I would just replace the shocks with stock Traxxas. Parts are easier to get. That aluminum gearbox is certainly weighing down the rear end. And I'm not convinced it's necessary. I've never heard of a 2wd gearbox failing. You might wanna ditch it. If you do that, the stock springs will work fine. Otherwise, you're going to have to find some stiffer springs to hold up the rear.