Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Brushless newb question

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2016, 08:01 AM
Talky McNeighborson

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Brushless newb question

Hey guys, After yanking my hair out for months trying to figure out where the grinding was coming from on my Team Associated Rival, I finally did the unthinkable that no man ever wants to admit to doing......I called tech support at AE.

Long story short, it turned out to be a bad motor. SO; I'm looking to get a new replacement motor that will work with the factory ESC. I'm fairly new to electric vehicles, my question is what do I need to look for when it comes to making sure the motor will be compatible?

Last edited by Talky McNeighborson; 05-17-2016 at 08:04 AM.
Old 05-17-2016, 10:43 AM
The Saylors

Hmm looks like it takes 4mm connections and is paired to a 2000kv stock motor with a 2700kv limit on the esc. Is there a reason that you dont like the stock motor aside from it being broken? Looks like you can get one pretty cheap ($50). If its just powerless then i would think a castle, hobby wing or really anything else will work as long as its same pole amount and doesn't go higher than 2700kv, other than that i cant think of anything else huge off the top of my head but i'm sure someone else will. You can go with a motor with a different size connection if you want to learn how to solder. The options more depend on your needs as a driver, that esc from what i see will be open to a lot of options.

http://www.dollarhobbyz.com/products...WdNhoCIy7w_wcB
Old 05-17-2016, 11:29 AM
Talky McNeighborson