Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more
Reload this Page >

My connectors melted, could it damage my rc car electronics?

Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

My connectors melted, could it damage my rc car electronics?

Old 08-21-2016, 07:30 AM
Kingfish3r1

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My connectors melted, could it damage my rc car electronics?

Hello!
Im new to Rc Universe and I'm glad to be part of the group!

Recently I bought a Traxxas Bandit with a brushless system used from Craigslist, it works really well. It's set up with an 120 A 3s compatible ESC and a 3650 5200 KV motor. It was running on a 6-cell 3000 MAH Venom NIMH pack.

I was warned about the low performing Tamiya connectors on the car and to switch to Deans Ultra, so I ordered a set.
The connectors haven't came in the mail yet so I thought the Tamiyas should hold at least until then. But a day later I took the car out and ran it for around 10-15 minutes until it stopped in its tracks. I ran to open the shell and found that the connectors were melted together and super hot. (I sniffed the electronics and nothing smelled burnt) I waited until I could try to pull them off but it was no use. So I turned the car off and grabbed some scissors and cut the esc wire off the connector. There was a small spark.

Could melting the connectors have damaged the esc, motor or receiver in any way? Or the fact that I had to remove the battery by cutting the wire?
I never saw any smoke, or smelled anything burnt...
I can't test anything until the Deans connectors come in
Old 08-21-2016, 07:42 AM
orzowei69