Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

lipo pack sizes that work with 60a esc.

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2016, 12:43 PM
Tootie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default lipo pack sizes that work with 60a esc.

all stock Redcat terremoto 10 v2. Yes I'm new to the game...
I do have a hobby grade heli but I have always used stock extra batteries being that it is a brushed motor. Any help please would be appreciated.
Old 12-31-2016, 03:26 PM
RustyUs

Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts

Not sure what you mean by LiPo pack sizes. Capacity? How many cells? I'm thinking the Redcat 60A ESC will say 2S~3S LiPo compatible. Measure battery compartment, then pick your favorite brand of battery. Pick your capacity. Check the specs on the battery measurements.

Last edited by RustyUs; 12-31-2016 at 03:42 PM. Reason: wording
Old 12-31-2016, 05:11 PM
flyinwalenda
My Feedback: (5)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If you are new then stick with a 2-cell lipo as that will be plenty. Don't run a 3-cell as it will blow that and most redcat trucks apart as soon as you hit the throttle.
Use something like a Venom 2-cell 5000mah 25c pack and you will get around 40min of run time. Make sure you use a LiPo balance charger too!
Old 12-31-2016, 06:19 PM
Tootie

Ok thanks! What about the C ratings how high can I go up with that and what could it damage? I know that the mAh is the amount of electricity stored in the pack. Meaning longer run times but I do need more power for the snow and jumps. Just cause I have the 3s power.... I sure won't use full throttle all that often. And I'm curious do I stay with a 7.4v or go up to an 11v?
Old 12-31-2016, 09:15 PM
flyinwalenda

Buy the largest "C" rated pack you can:
A) Afford and
B) Fit in the battery tray

11 volts is a 3-cell lipo.

Here is some bedtime reading!