Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Earthquake 8E upgrading batteries

Old 05-07-2017, 11:16 AM
Dirtslingerss38

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Earthquake 8E upgrading batteries

Hey everyone, I just bought my redcat 8e earthquake and want to get a longer lasting batteries and I am not sure what to get. And I know the 5800mah 7.4 is better but what about 2 11.1 can I do that ? And I have read anything over 30c is not good. Can anyone just give me a idea of what I can and cant do. I am new to the rc world so take it easy on me. Thanks

Last edited by Dirtslingerss38; 05-07-2017 at 11:17 AM. Reason: Missing word
Old 05-07-2017, 04:10 PM
RustyUs

Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts

I'd check with your ESC, and motor specs before trying to put 6S LiPo power in your truck. I'll bet both the ESC and motor are only rated up to 4S LiPo packs. That being said, two 2S 5000mAh 40C LiPo packs is what I would go with. Of course you could always go out and get higher discharge rated packs as well. I'm sure 5000mAh is quite a bit more capacity than what the Earthquake 8E came with. You could get slightly larger packs with more capacity, but 5000mAh pack are usually found at a good price.

I don't know where you are reading info on "C" ratings, but having a higher discharge "C" rated pack would be my recommendation. 40C minimum is my general rule of thumb for a 1/8 scale RCs.
http://www.rogershobbycenter.com/lipoguide/
Understanding RC LiPo Batteries
Lipo battery Introduction - mrpositive.co.nz

Last edited by RustyUs; 05-07-2017 at 04:20 PM. Reason: Wording/Spelling
Old 05-07-2017, 04:27 PM
RustyUs

Originally Posted by Dirtslingerss38