Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Need help choosing motor and ESC

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2018, 04:27 AM
purup

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile Need help choosing motor and ESC

Hello RC Experts,

I'm relatively new to RC and I need some advise. Some time ago I bought a Maxam Storm R10 (1:10, fwd, waterproof). Now the motor has given up on me.

The motor was a HSP 540 3300 KV brushless sensorless (and I think, 9 turn).
The ESC is a 60A brushless sensorless.

Obviously I could just get the same motor, but I'd like to use the opportunity to possibly get something better and also learn something.

The car's top speed was about 60 km/h. I like that but I also don't need to go faster.
The car had very little torque at low speeds and especially starting from a complete stop. I'd like it to have more torque.

So, I've watched Youtube and trawled forums (including this one) but I cannot seem to find a good, thorough guide and explanation of all the aspects of choosing a motor and ESC. Here's what I've gathered myself so far:

KV is RPM (rounds per minute) per volt. The higher KV, the faster the motor.
Turns has to do with the wiring inside the motor. The lower turns, the faster the motor.

My questions are:

- Are KV and Turns just to ways of saying the same thing or are they independant features?
- Is any 3300 KV motor going to give me the same speed?
- How does KV and turns affect torque ...if it does?
- How will I know if a motor is compatible with my ESC?
- Will a sensored system give me more torque?

Any help is much appreciated!

Last edited by purup; 01-02-2018 at 04:30 AM.
Old 01-02-2018, 04:01 PM
RustyUs

Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts

No expert here, I just try to help out were I can in this great hobby.