Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Summit vxl 1/16 or savage xs

Old 05-17-2018, 04:42 PM
Steven the beven

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Summit vxl 1/16 or savage xs

Ive been saving up for a couple months and all the time I was set on getting the HPI Savage xs flux. I love jumping, bashing, speed, etc. I am very hard on my rcs. I love the little xs, but I never considered a 1/16 Summit vxl, which I think looks just as good if not better, has more suspension travel, is much much easier to work on, and more capable when I want to do some crawling. I like that too. Not serious crawling, just through some very light woods in the back yard. I don't crawl much. They are both fast enough so speed is not an issue, nor are looks. My biggest 2 fears/doubts is that the summit takes 1/16 batteries and electronics and the durability. I have another 1/10 scale so I couldn't use my batteries for both. Honestly I'd probably just run the summit on 2 6 cell nimhs. With durability, Ive heard the savage is almost bulletproof, but if something does break its hell to take apart. I've heard the summit isn't as durable, but is soo much easier to work on. With what I do stuff is bound to break on both (dirt jumps, occasional skate parks, etc), so there is a trade off. I work a lot on the summit which is easy, or I work less on the savage but its hard to work on. I like how the savage uses all 1/10 scale things and is durable but I like the looseness and suspaension travel of the summit. I also don't know if 1/16 is big enough for me either, but I think if would be fine. I don't really like to mod things much (other than to make it go faster or fix key break points) due to cost. i don't want to have to put in a bunch of money all the time. A few spares here and there are okay. I was also looking at the Hpi bullet mt flux bu