Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Subaru Impreza WRC 1/10 Bycmo

Old 01-07-2015, 09:33 AM
  #1976  
dust75
Senior Member
 
dust75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: stoke on trent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 950
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Yeah crimbo was ok but hanks and.the new years going on for now lol hope you had a good one too
dust75 is offline  
Old 01-07-2015, 09:35 AM
  #1977  
dust75
Senior Member
 
dust75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: stoke on trent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 950
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

If you did get your better half a truck i would look into getter her a a flatbed trailer then a forklift truck then she can drive the truck around and when she is finished driving or is parked up you could load the trailer for her
dust75 is offline  
Old 01-07-2015, 09:42 AM
  #1978  
dust75
Senior Member
 
dust75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: stoke on trent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 950
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

http://scaletrucks.bb3host.com/viewt...hp?f=57&t=2894

dont know if this is anywhere near you its on this weekend 11/01/15 its about 125 miles away from me otherwise i would take a trip there
dust75 is offline  
Old 01-07-2015, 09:55 AM
  #1979  
dust75
Senior Member
 
dust75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: stoke on trent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 950
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

has your bycmo got the white gears and red springs or black gears and yellow springs
dust75 is offline  
Old 01-08-2015, 01:26 PM
  #1980  
dust75
Senior Member
 
dust75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: stoke on trent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 950
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

  • Cam-rc1990 did you get your pm?
dust75 is offline  
Old 01-23-2015, 02:32 PM
  #1981  
stoodleyr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: oxford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 18
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Mines got a set of Tamiya gears I adapted , but did have black ones and I fitted new shocks to it xx
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	1.21 MB
ID:	2066999  
stoodleyr is offline  
Old 01-23-2015, 02:36 PM
  #1982  
stoodleyr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: oxford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 18
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	193
Size:	1.12 MB
ID:	2067000   Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	192
Size:	1.12 MB
ID:	2067001   Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	225
Size:	1.12 MB
ID:	2067002  
stoodleyr is offline  
Old 01-23-2015, 02:38 PM
  #1983  
stoodleyr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: oxford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 18
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

There's my beast warts and all ,still running all basic old gear really just replacing the broken bits with eBay cheapys
stoodleyr is offline  
Old 01-23-2015, 02:42 PM
  #1984  
stoodleyr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: oxford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 18
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Sorry I missed your links as I phase in and out of various hobbies , just can't make my mind up ,many thanks for thinking of me though x
stoodleyr is offline  
Old 01-23-2015, 04:02 PM
  #1985  
dust75
Senior Member
 
dust75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: stoke on trent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 950
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

That's a good looking car/truck
dust75 is offline  
Old 01-23-2015, 04:26 PM
  #1986  
dust75
Senior Member
 
dust75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: stoke on trent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 950
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

are they kyosho tires you have on the bycmo wheels ??
dust75 is offline  
Old 01-24-2015, 02:22 AM
  #1987  
stoodleyr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: oxford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 18
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Yeah they work quite well but you have to glue them or the bead pops off now and then . I have to say for running in the street where I live this car is so much fun as I can't exactly run my nitros
stoodleyr is offline  
Old 01-24-2015, 03:27 AM
  #1988  
dust75
Senior Member
 
dust75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: stoke on trent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 950
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Yeah i know what you mean about the tyres that's why I have lots of different wheels and tyres for my bycmo I was running foam tyres on my bycmo for a while
dust75 is offline  
Old 01-24-2015, 03:33 PM
  #1989  
stoodleyr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: oxford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 18
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Just tried it with a Lipo , seems to make the throttle response much quicker ,might have to invest in an esc
stoodleyr is offline  
Old 01-24-2015, 05:33 PM
  #1990  
dust75
Senior Member
 
dust75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: stoke on trent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 950
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Would love to see a video of it on lipos (steroids lol)
dust75 is offline  
Old 12-15-2015, 11:35 PM
  #1991  
Lurch2503
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Ok so just had to register to throw out a massive thanks to everyone here!! My bymco has been sitting in the shed for 7 years with a stripped diff. Thanks to this thread (that took most of the day to read) im heading home to dust and clean the beast and lock the diff.. providing i can find the charger im hoping to have it running by the end of the week.

Its a bit of a mish mash and the shell has been misplaced but im hoping to canabalise another cheap unit for some form of cover

Thanks heaps as if it was not for this post it would still be hiding in a cupboard
Lurch2503 is offline  
Old 12-17-2015, 02:34 AM
  #1992  
dust75
Senior Member
 
dust75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: stoke on trent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 950
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi lurch
Glad to here your going to have a go at reviving your bycmo and glad to hear that this thread has managed to help you out
dust75 is offline  
Old 12-17-2015, 04:42 AM
  #1993  
Lurch2503
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Its alive!

Couldnt find the charger and i think the battery is kaput but i managed to grab a new nimh batt and a charger today.. was doing some seriously random things when i hooked it up... whent haywire as soon as i connected the battery.... thats when i remembered installing the on off faceplate backwards all those years ago hahaha had it roaring on the workbench and everything seems to be functioning a1!! Will be hitting the station carpark early tommorrow morning on the way to work

Still minus one body and struggling to justify spending $80 AUD on a new one... have started modifying a body pulled of a 1/10 porsche factory built toy just need to extend or replace the body posts

Will post some pics when i have it done
Lurch2503 is offline  
Old 12-17-2015, 04:47 AM
  #1994  
dust75
Senior Member
 
dust75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: stoke on trent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 950
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Looking forward to any photos or videos
dust75 is offline  
Old 12-17-2015, 10:12 PM
  #1995  
Lurch2503
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default



Photos so far, missing the Foam bumper and the whole thing is getting stripped down and cleaned on Sunday arvo, the body is an old school Porsche Carerra that i pilfered from a 'Toy' factory sealed RC. doing the last of the mod work for it to fit tonight

Had it out for a run this morning which went well until i found out that i had forgotten to tighten the pinion gear LOL almost lost it completely
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	20151216_062619.jpg
Views:	190
Size:	2.21 MB
ID:	2136348   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151217_061928.jpg
Views:	180
Size:	1.80 MB
ID:	2136349   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151217_061945.jpg
Views:	182
Size:	1.55 MB
ID:	2136350   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151217_175309.jpg
Views:	169
Size:	1.45 MB
ID:	2136351  
Lurch2503 is offline  
Old 12-18-2015, 02:37 AM
  #1996  
dust75
Senior Member
 
dust75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: stoke on trent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 950
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Good to hear all went well ish this morning lol
Did the Porsche shell have lights in it before??
dust75 is offline  
Old 12-21-2015, 03:48 AM
  #1997  
Lurch2503
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Not actual lights just fake ones. I have finished a strip and respray of the shell just gotta reassmble it. Also seems as though the grub screw on the pinion is threaded (stripped) as it just spins and wont tighten. Any chance a non bycmo replacement would work? Shipping plus the excgange rate makes ordering from australia quit expensive...
Below is the respreyed body.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B5E...p=docslist_api
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	20151220_205515.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	2.22 MB
ID:	2136867  

Last edited by Lurch2503; 12-21-2015 at 03:51 AM.
Lurch2503 is offline  
Old 12-21-2015, 11:42 AM
  #1998  
dust75
Senior Member
 
dust75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: stoke on trent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 950
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

WOW that's so much better
Is there anyway you could pack the thread out so the grub screw bites on the packing then it might tighten better
dust75 is offline  
Old 12-21-2015, 01:07 PM
  #1999  
Lurch2503
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

i had a brain wave this morning on the train similar theory but instead of worrying about packing out the tiny thread im contemplating using a coating of clear nail polish on the motor shaft, that way it should ever so slightly increase the diameter and lock tight, then if i need to change it i can just dab on a little acetone.

will give it a crack after christmas
Lurch2503 is offline  
Old 12-21-2015, 02:31 PM
  #2000  
dust75
Senior Member
 
dust75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: stoke on trent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 950
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Good idea have to let me know how you get on
And have a merry Christmas
dust75 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.